Home > grandmothers, motherhood > Why I’m starting this blog

Why I’m starting this blog

This isn’t my only blog. It isn’t even my only mom blog. My other mom blog is what I think of as the Crayola version of my life. It’s filled with adorable pictures of my adorable daughter and clever, pleasant little stories about how she lost her shoe or learned a new word today.

It’s pap. Drivel. Edited and screened and pasteurized to inoffensive blandness for my intended audience: my parents, my in-laws, other family, and family friends. Most of whom are well over 60 years old and were shocked, shocked I say, when I used the word “fuck” in a post. It serves me perfectly well — keeps the old folks up to date on their darling and helps head off requests for “Oh, more photos, please!”

But it’s killing me. Stay-at-home motherhood isn’t all quirky little anecdotes, charming little dresses, and domestic disasters. It’s hard, grueling, excruciating work fraught with decisions that can alter the life course of this little person I’m in charge of. It’s brutal on a marriage and on my body. I get mocked, condescended at, preached to, judged, abused, and that’s all just from strangers on the street.

I can talk to my husband about this. Sometimes. Sorta. But sometimes he’s the one I’m angry at. I can talk to my best friend about this. Sometimes. Sorta. But she doesn’t have kids.   I can’t talk to my mom or my mother-in-law — any conversation with them usually results in a smug and condescending “Oh, how well I remember, it’s a hard job, wait until it gets worse.”

I suppose I could write in an old-fashioned diary. But that seems like screaming in a vacuum. Most likely, no one will actually read this. But writing all that sunny, treacly drivel on the other blog makes me want to write about the real, ugly, dark side of motherhood. So here I am.

Pages: 1 2

Categories: grandmothers, motherhood
  1. karriew
    April 27, 2007 at 11:25 pm

    I love the title. 🙂

  2. JustAnotherMommy
    April 28, 2007 at 12:01 am

    Looking forward to reading more. I often think of making this kind of blog myaelf…my life as a full-time WOTH mom no holds barred…but I already have issues that have arisen from my coworkers finding my crayola blog, so I cannot do it!!! Oh well…I’ll blog vicariously through you!

  3. April 28, 2007 at 3:19 am

    I know what you mean about self-censorship on the “official blog” read by parents, in-laws, and other people who know you in real life who would be SHOCKED.

  4. Raise Hell
    April 28, 2007 at 6:34 am

    I can tell I’m going to like this blog already.

  5. April 28, 2007 at 12:41 pm

    looking forward to reading more…

  6. April 28, 2007 at 12:43 pm

    I am looking forward to more. I would love to have another blog to come to and say, “Amen Sista!”.

    My husband was upset over a blog post I wrote where I just wanted to get away and suggested a hotel. It hurt his wittle feelings. Screw it. He isnt here all day, every day.

    There have been many things I wanted to write about, but know it wont be met with much praise. I dont think I am at the point of starting another blog, but it sounds like a good idea.

    You are off to a good start with Karrie linking to you.

  7. April 28, 2007 at 2:55 pm

    I made the mistake of telling my in-laws about my blog thinking they’d never read it shit, shit, shit!!!
    Looking forward to reading more.
    http://www.mamamianosabia.blogspot.com

  8. artemis777
    April 28, 2007 at 5:26 pm

    Cool title, interesting post, and sex links…what more could I ask for? LOL! I look forward to reading more.

  9. DSB
    April 28, 2007 at 11:19 pm

    Good idea for a blog.

  10. April 29, 2007 at 10:46 am

    Yep I can relate – I deleted my old blog that everyone knew about and mentioned us all by name to start up my current one, which nobody else knows about (as far as I know!!). Now I can moan about everybody and write my innermost feelings without censorship. Much more therapeutic!

  11. April 30, 2007 at 2:02 am

    I like it already. This is the version of motherhood I know. Hard.

  12. April 30, 2007 at 11:24 pm

    You go, girl. Been there and I know how rough it can be. I’m looking for some blogging moms who are more the empty-nester age, like me. We all need to vent and feel that someone understands.

  13. May 4, 2007 at 3:17 am

    I’m in the trench next door. Come, let’s be friends and soldiers together!

  1. April 27, 2007 at 11:31 pm

Leave a Reply

