Home > books, motherhood > I got 15 copies of Goodnight Moon for my shower

I got 15 copies of Goodnight Moon for my shower

You think about children’s books? What these cheerful little repetitive inane bits of drivel are teaching our kids?

“Guess How Much I Love You,” The Child’s book of choice for mealtimes, has a clear and obvious moral. Because I’m bigger and older, I will always be able to do everything better than you.

“The Giving Tree” is a totally destructive co-dependant relationship.

“The Big Hungry Bear and the Red Ripe Strawberry” is about how it’s okay to use fear to get people to do things that they really don’t want to do, and scamming them out of their hard-earned food is a good thing.

“The Runaway Bunny,” where moms turn into psychotic stalkers.

“I Love My Daddy Because” he’s a 1950s cliche example of masculinity! “I Love My Mommy Because” she’s June Cleaver re-incarnated, only working full time!

And then there are the big piles of badly rhymed, badly scanned pseudo-poetry that say nothing but accompany the pretty pictures.

I’m a writer. Spent many years in the magazine business before becoming a mom. Words, precision of grammar and vocabulary, nuance of language, these are all important things that get hardwired early. Why is most of the drive out there aobut how to make hush, mush, and plush rhyme?

Categories: books, motherhood
  1. May 8, 2007 at 9:01 pm

    As a child, I had a Richard Scarry book called “Nicky Goes to the Doctor.” There’s a line in there where Dr. Doctor says to the little bunny Nicky “please take off your shirt and slacks so I can examine you.” In kindergarten, they taught us not to let people look at places your bathing suit covers up. My first-grade, barely-reading brain freaked out. I -still- don’t much care for going to doctors.

  2. Raise Hell
    May 10, 2007 at 3:57 pm

    Your a writer?!? Oh great, just ignore my bad spelling, over use of commas and such. Hehe!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

