Home > weight > Chub rub

Chub rub

I’m fat.

Strong, in good shape, but fat. And as summer comes, I’m fat and sweaty. I’ve been toying with the idea of wearing more sundresses, but I’m worried about ‘chub rub.’ You know, that irritation you get when your thighs rub together and they are damp with sweat?

The Monistat “soothing powder-gel” doesn’t work long enough. I know friends who put on bicycle shorts under skirts and dresses, but that strikes me as hot. I’m on the lookout for something like bike shorts — long enough to cover the offending bits — but lightweight.

Also, skirts with toddler — I’m thinking full-coverage underwear might be a good idea regardless.

Categories: weight
  1. southernfriedfatty
    May 8, 2007 at 5:46 pm

    I wear cotton bike shorts under my skirts. The only problem with that is my skirt doesn’t hang right sometimes because of the friction between the two materials. The “shiny” bike shorts work much better because of that but sometimes those don’t give enough at the mid thigh area and you can see the bulge where the short ends. You might want to find the bike shorts that are made out of the material that is supposed to “wick away” the sweat. I don’t have a problem with being hot though and I live in Alabama, where it is not so much the heat but the humidity πŸ™‚

  2. karriew
    May 9, 2007 at 12:24 pm

    Have you tried Spanx? I’m planning to pick up a few pairs, so I’ll let you know.

  3. karriew
    May 9, 2007 at 12:26 pm

    Maybe like these?

    No idea how they run.

  4. southernfriedfatty
    May 9, 2007 at 2:40 pm

    I have tried Spanx. They are great to hold you in and they do not leave the mid-thigh bulge, the only problem is that in the summer it is kind of like wearing pantyhose. They do not absorb any moisture and you get really sweaty. I would recommend getting some because as far as girdles, oh I’m sorry they are called “body shapers” now, they are the best.

  5. May 9, 2007 at 3:23 pm

    I like the Hanes Body Shapers, but I dont know if they make them anymore. I tried the Spanx underwear and I couldnt breathe. I know I am not that fat.

    As for toddler girls and dresses, get her some bike shorts. I bought a few pair of cotton bike shorts for my daughter. It was easier than teachering her not to pull her dress over her head, keep her legs closed or hang upside down for no apparent reason. Dont get me wrong, I still tell her about a million times a day to stop doing that stuff, but at least she is not showing the world her junk. She can save that for when she is working for a $1000 a day at Bada Bing’s.

  6. May 9, 2007 at 7:39 pm

    That Monistat commercial cracks me up because the model demonstrating the “powder gel” is so thin she doesn’t have anything anywhere that rubs together.

  7. C'tina
    May 14, 2007 at 7:17 pm

    I’m looking into ‘skorts’ this year…I’m coveting the ones at http://www.rei.com, but waiting for them to go on sale….

  8. May 22, 2007 at 1:05 am

    Why not try just wearing boxer shorts? You can get some with more…er….crotch support (??) so you can wear liners if you want.

  9. May 22, 2007 at 1:15 am

    I have a few spanx things. they work, but it’s a freak show with the heat hoarding aspect. the material doesn’t breathe, and . neither (gasp). do…. youuu.

  10. Fiona
    May 24, 2007 at 3:45 pm

    Have you tried Bodyglide? I’ve just bought some so can’t say if it works or not, but I have read good things πŸ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

