Home > Politics > Why the GOP can kiss my ass

Why the GOP can kiss my ass

So have you ever noticed that the GOP tends to specialize in hypocricy? I’m not talking about what I think of as rational Republicans — those who are in the part for the legitimate (if specious) reason that they believe in smaller and more local government. (I’ll save my rant as to why that is parochial and idiotic for another day.) No, I’m talking about the “Moral Majority” Republicans. Those who are for “The American Way” and “Traditional Family Values.”

Those values, as far as I can suss out, are all against something. Or someone. Against women, blacks, gays, Jews, the poor, Mexicans, single moms, kids, teachers, etc. etc. It’s a religion of negativity.

But, and here’s what gets me, the guys (it’s always guys) who are the loudest are usually doing it in the back room. Let’s catalog, for a moment, the rotting stink of the GOP lately.

Mark Foley: GOP point man on the House Caucus on Missing and Exploited Children (i.e. using your children’s safety as a stick to beat you into condoning censorship!) makes passes at kids.

Alberto Gonzales: Head of the Justice Department wipes his ass with our laws. And doesn’t get impeached! (Though I am outraged over his firing of the Federal Prosecutors, I’m more outraged over the fact that a man who penned the so-called torture memos, and once claimed that the Geneva Convention didn’t apply to Texas, ever got to be nominated much less confirmed.)

Paul Wolfowitz: Scary scary man who headed the World Bankon a platform of fighting against corruption and nepotism busted for … corruption and nepotism.

Ted Haggard: To be fair, he’s an Evangelical hate monger, not a GOP hate monger. But I’ll betcha $20 and a kiss that he’s a Republican and helped raise money for politicians. But anyway, he used his bully pulpit to spew homophobic propoganda. And gets caught with a male hooker.

Bush. Just, you know, Bush.

That Tobias guy: The man who handed out foreign aid with an eye towards making sure that Third World countries didn’t get any help from U.S. on birth control, that guy, was found to be on the client list of the D.C. Madame. I bet he wore a condom. (If he didn’t… ick!)

The voter fraud thing: The Bushies wanted to prosecute Dems for voter fraud. But there wasn’t any. So they ginned some up.

And how many of these scandals are still getting attention? Not nearly enough.

Categories: Politics
  1. May 25, 2007 at 8:35 pm

    Yes, the repubs are the worst kind of dogs. But the dems are no better. A pox on both their houses. Vote “third party!” The dems and repubs current list of celebdidates will only do the same old, same old when they get in. It’s time for a change.

    The scientifically impossible I do right away
    The spiritually miraculous takes a bit longer

  2. jamanda
    May 25, 2007 at 9:24 pm

    Clapso — I disagree, alas. I think a third party candidate is a nice idea, but I believe in doing the practical thing and I don’t think a third-party can get elected in 2008. So, I say vote Dem and get involved in the party and change from within.

  3. May 26, 2007 at 6:15 am

    Alas, I have been hearing the “change the party from within” hope for decades now. That hope has been dashed again and again. If any of the dem celebdidates wins in 2008; I hope you will be happy with Iraq, plan B. That will be how the dems will withdraw some US troops but keep many in the permanent bases that are being built in Iraq. This war won’t end until the dems and repubs pay the price for it. You can also expect to get lip service from the dem administration on any issue, while they do the same old, same old. There will be little change ‘cept the faces of the fools in the oval office.

    The scientifically impossible I do right away
    The spiritually miraculous takes a bit longer

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

