Home > global warming, Politics > I hate Michael Griffin

I hate Michael Griffin

This is a political rant. I’m sorry.

I have a huge head of rage on right now. Today. This week. This month. I mean, I’m pissed off a lot, but there was a piece on NPR this morning that had me so angry I think I slipped from Human Being into … I don’t know what.

Michael Griffin, for those not geeky enough to know, is the head of NASA. Now, I haven’t always agreed with NASA and its decisions,  but NASA is cool. NASA rocks. NASA is our hope for the future. NASA is where all geeks of a certain ilk — sci-fi geeks, in particular — want to be. (Why NASA is staffed, at least the astronauts, by jet-flyer jocks instead of geeks is one of the things that pisses me off, but I digress.)

But this morning, Mr. Griffin had a chance to talk to NPR to provide a defense against Gregg Easterbrook’s scathing article in Wired on Morning Edition. And listening to his mealy-mouth, cowardly, chicken-shit Bush-licking ass-kissing answers to really important, relevant questions about global warming shot me into the red zone.

Environmentalism has been my hot-button issue for years, and global warming is finally gaining some traction in the public mind. So listening to this man  vomit out a ridiculous pile of pap that essentially shovels shit for the oil companies (and their political allies) . This man who should be the voice of reason and a herald for the scientific community, this man who heads the only group in the history of the human race which stands any chance of settling another planet, this man who has an unprecedented bully pulpit — he has the WHOLE OF SPACE! THE FINAL FRONTIER — to help gather information on global warming and maybe help stop it! This man is doing… nothing. He’s spewing platitudes that sound a lot like those of the tobacco companies’ spokesmen. He’s making me red-faced vein-popping mouth-frothing coronary-inducing angry.

So I’m doing what I always do. Reading a book. Or books. And recommending other people read books. I know that you all are mostly moms and don’t have a lot of time. But if you do, I think every human being in the world should read the following books:

Having Faith: An Ecologist’s Journey to Motherhood: A wonderful and fabulous mom-moir that talks about all kinds of things, but includes several chapters about how the government and the corporations are hurting your baby before she is even born. And why the mantra of “personal responsibility” doesn’t work when it comes to protecting our children from pollutants.

Edge of Disaster: This is actually a very scary book about how our government is willfully and wantonly doing things that will make the upcoming disasters we face (environmental and man-made) even worse.

Forty Signs of Rain; Fifty Below Zero; Sixty Days and Counting: Okay, Kim Stanley Robinson’s prose is kinda opaque sometimes. And there are some very weird subplots. But these books give a look at the everyday realities of abrupt climate change and what may happen if we don’t do something. And why scientists need to get involved in politics.

Omnivore’s Dilemma: How we do eat and how you should eat and how the multi-trillion dollar “value-added” food industry is very bad for us and our environment.

Okay, I’m done. For now. I gotta get lunch.

Categories: global warming, Politics
  1. May 31, 2007 at 7:24 pm

    Oh I feel your pain. I wrote something simular not to long ago, which raised the ire of an entire nation of Doctors when I suggested that women should, I dunno, research vaccines. I mean given that this planet is going to hell in a handbasket (thanks to us), we have no right fucking with things on a grand scale that we do.

    In the end, I was “corrected”, even though they pretty much missed the intent of my original post. Which was that we often fail to look at the whole, world view when we mess with stuff and how it might impact us down the road.

  2. June 1, 2007 at 12:53 am

    amen.

    I’m getting some of those books.

  3. C'tina
    June 1, 2007 at 6:32 pm

    Along the same lines as vaccinations (in a round about way)…Pesticides….maybe these days they are ‘safe’ to ingest…but if the plants we eat do not have to fight off their own infections/pests….and they lose the ability to do so…where does that leave us? Unable to fight off diease as well? COPD is just this all-encompassing condition that is taking hold, kids with all kinds of allergies~CSA, anyone?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

