Home > City mama, my bod > Showing all of Cambridge my ass

Showing all of Cambridge my ass

So I have a great pair of jeans that I love. They fit right and maybe even flatter me a bit. But a few weeks (months?) ago, I accidentally snagged the back of them on a nail jutting out of a wall at the library, tearing a four inch gash in them. I’ve been meaning to fix it, but I only understand patching as a theoretical exercise. So I’ve ben wearing them with long shirts or only at home when I scrub the floors or whatever.

Until today. Today, I went to the gym (hoorah) and took a shower and got dressed there. And, still damp from the shower, I realized that I’d brought the shredded jeans. And I had an appointment with P–, my waxer, that I had to keep. (Pregnancy gave me a fine-haired ‘stash. Nursing has kept it there. I get a lip wax every two months or so.) She’d shoehorned me inot her early morning as a special favor because she thinks The Child is adorable.

And, of course, my t-shirt was a short one. So I walked to Davis Sq. with my bright green knickers showing through.

And then, thanks to my maternal ability to forget anything not right in front of me, I somehow forgot I had my panties hanging out. Went to the park. Spent an hour running around, bending over, squatting, and apparently showing my butt to every mother, child, and father in the universe. Or at least in Davis Sq.

You’d think one person would have tapped me on the shoulder and said, “Hey, um, you know you’ve got a hole in your pants?”

If I had the energy, I’d be mortified.

Categories: City mama, my bod
  1. July 2, 2007 at 9:17 pm

    See I never know what to do in these situations. I think I should tell them something, but if you cant do anything about it wouldnt ignorance be bliss? Now, if you had a booger or something that you could get rid of and go about your day then I will tell you. I mean if I walked up to you and said I can see your underwear you would be horrified and not talk to me.

    And frankly being a mother I would totally understand. I walked around most of the day with my zipper undone. I thought, great my pants are loose and until they started to slide down my hips. Then I realized I was about to show all of Gap what mama was hiding in her shorts.

  2. karriew
    July 3, 2007 at 10:38 am

    Eh, in Cambridge/Somerville I’m sure no one even noticed, or if they did they probably thought you were making some kind of Statement.

    I say run with it, and wear them with red undies and a blue and white t shirt tomorrow. Or sew a flag over the hole. 😉

  3. July 3, 2007 at 5:47 pm

    just watch, all the other moms are going to “accidentally” rip a 4″ hole in their jeans too now.

  4. July 3, 2007 at 10:18 pm

    You are so starting a trend 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

