Home > sleep deprivation > Bad mommy jail

Bad mommy jail

Bad mommy jail is the imaginary place I send myself when I find myself thinking totally inappropriate thoughts. Like the other day when, after six hours (10 p.m. to 4 a.m.) of no more than 20 minutes of sleep, I hissed at The Child, “I hate you.”  That was a bad mommy jail moment.

Right now, I’m beat. The Child has been teething. The Husband has been convalescing. And I’ve been taking care of them both. I never realized how much literal heavy lifting The Husband handles around the place — I’m sore from hauling load of laundry and climbing up on chairs to get things and my neck is pained from sleeping (when I sleep) sideways. My temper is on a flash fuse, I need an hour to myself, and right now I’m basically making the decision that I want some time awake and thinking and along rather than asleep. (The Husband is out with the Boys on his bi weekly game night.) I may regret that because The Child is so not sleeping.

Used to be that we could count on her to sleep until 1:30 or 2:30 most nights. Then I’d take her to bed with us. But lately it’s been 10 or 11. Or she never gets to sleep alone at all.

And so, sore, with my kitchen in tomato-soaked disarray, as I put The Child down, I thought about a suggestion The Best Friend made. Benadryl. Dose the kid with anti-histamines and get six or even eight hours of sleep. And then it’s back to bad mommy jail for me.

Categories: sleep deprivation
  1. Wendy
    August 3, 2007 at 1:38 am

    Oh, I would be under mommy jail for my attitude today. However, I know that tomorrow is another day and I will have 3 hours to myself.

    We all have bad days and we all think things we shouldnt. I dont think beating ourselves up over it is worth the effort. As long as our children are safe, healthy and not too mentally scarred it is a good day.

  2. karriew
    August 3, 2007 at 6:06 pm

    You might want to try half a dose first, if she has never had it before. (Lucky me, Benadryl makes Max even more wired, which as you know is a scary, special kind of hell.)

  3. Raise Hell
    August 5, 2007 at 5:18 am

    Benadryl rules for helping with sleep issues. My child sleeps until 6 am. I wish I could hire a nanny for you for a month. Vacations work wonders.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

