Gone silent

Sorry about the lack of postings. It’s been one of those weeks where there’s no real reason (other than the plethora of usual ones) for me to be exhausted, but I was. So, I was silent for a while. But now, finally, The Child is napping and I have plenty else to do, but no will with which to do it. So here I sit. And write, though I  write mournfully.

Because, in sad news for the mom-blog-o-sphere, “One Weird Mother” has gone silent for good. My life is a little more barren for its loss.

In fact, I would argue that all mothers, whether they know it or not, are more barren for its loss. We live in a culture where the meme of motherhood is poisonously sweet and fraught with impossible contradictions — where working moms feel the need to apologize for having a career and stay-at-home moms need to apologize for not having one. Moms simultaneously get berated if they let their kids eat Fruit Roll-Ups and watch TV and dunned for being an uptight control freak if they don’t. Science, cultural norms, and the latest studies all offer irreconcilable advice, and family structures are fraying without any institutions to replace them, leaving moms adrift in a sea of information and opinions but no real support.

In that climate, Karrie’s blog offered neither advice nor judgment, just a mental space where you could step back and observe the sheer hilarity and absurdity of motherhood in the 21st century. She was funny and honest and had a great voice that I’ll miss. When I read her blog, I never felt as alone as I do when I’m in a playground full of other moms who all seem to be in on the secret super-cool-mom handshake. I felt like Karrie would be there with me, hanging out on the picnic table, instead of clumped together in chick-lit flocks of slender giggles. In fact, I felt like she would be making fun all the ‘yummy mummies’ and their talk of pedicures and tennis bracelets and tofu shakes.

We need more weirdness in motherhood. More acceptance that weirdness is okay — that kids and moms are people as well as family units and that it’s okay if those folks do it differently than we do. Karrie was a champion of that, by sheer dint of her own, unique voice.

So take a moment to mourn “One Weird Mother.” And take a moment to promise to be a little more weird, in her honor. I know I will.

  1. Wendy
    August 17, 2007 at 9:44 pm

    I agree.

  2. August 18, 2007 at 12:22 am

    me too. I’m kind of mad at her right now for abandoning us. I relied on her daily postings to even me out. I hope you can tell her that for me, I think you guys hang out in person. I was going to post something about how tragic this silence is….I feel like I’m being punished.

  3. frisky
    August 19, 2007 at 6:36 am

    I am heart-broken! I loved OWM! I can’t count the number of times I had to interrupt whatever TJ was doing to share with him something absolutely hilarious that Karrie wrote.

    (Frisky has been reading this blog too, for quite some time, but has always been too shy to comment. For this, she apologises!)

    Thanks for the update! I worry.

    -Frisky

  4. Amy
    August 20, 2007 at 5:26 pm

    Yes, I liked reading her blog. I think while lots of mommybloggers talk the talk that “We’re all moms” — she really walked the walk.

  5. August 24, 2007 at 6:57 pm

    Awww…..thank you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

