Home > books, motherhood > A round-about request

A round-about request

I have fantastic friends. They are astounding. I’m not sure what I did to deserve them, but they rock. When the Husband went in for surgery, everyone offered help. When, a month later, I sounded like a cartoon of a rope unraveling with the damned Coyote hanging on at the end, they offer to come over and take The Child for a few hours. When my birthday arrives, they buy me massage gift certificates and trashy pulp novels. When I go out for coffee with them, they hold The Child while I get to go to the bathroom at Starbucks all by myself!

I am, eventaully going to take one or two up on the offer of alone time. Because, if you discount The Child’s naps, I’ve had exactly five hours to myself in past four months. And I’m going to get new glasses so mine stop falling apart. And I’m going to go to Starbucks and get a drink in a mug and sit for a few hours and read a book.

What book? I have no idea. And this is why I’m leaning hard on you, my new friends in cyberspace, to find out. I need a book recommendation.

I’ve got a shelf full of loaners from The Best Friend and other friends but none of them quite fill the requirements for a curled-up-in-the-Starbucks stolen afternoon. (Or, they would perfectly fulfill the requirements and I’ve already read them recently.) I’m looking for something that’s fun but not too fluffy. Good characters and dialog and plot, but in no way literary. A mystery would be okay, but dead or imperiled kids are not. Something like a good, late-model Jennifer Crusie (not her earlier, too fluffy stuff). Early Janet Evanovich (not her later, too facile stuff). Urban fantasy a la Kim Harrison, Patricia Briggs, or Charlaine Harris, all good. Something like Laurell K. Hamilton, but only before she went over the deep end into S&M naval gazing. A historical fiction like one of Sharon Kay Penman’s would be great! Why can’t these authors write more often? Or at least not get lousy after ten books.

What’s too fluffy? Lilith Saintcrow, Carrie Vaughn, and Tracy Chevalier are too fluffy. What’s too literary? Phillipa Gregory and Anita Diamant and that long dull thing about Mr. Norrel and Dr. Strange or something. (I’ve been told that if I can wade through the first 100 pages, it gets better. I’m dubious. Then again, I tell people that about Cryptonomicon all the time and that’s one of my all time favorites.)  No bodice rippers, please. Not that I’m morally opposed, it’s just that all those skinny beautiful people having great sex all the time remind me that I’m overweight and my libido is flat lining. Sherrilyn Kenyon books are bodice rippers.

No nonfiction.

Thank you, my online friends, for any suggestions you have.

Categories: books, motherhood
  1. Amy
    August 21, 2007 at 3:04 am

    I loved, loved, loved Water For Elephants, by Sara Guren – one of the best books I’ve read in years! Also, the His Dark Materials Trilogy by Philip Pullman is a great read! It can be as light or as deep as you want it to be. (Also going to be a movie this winter.)
    Applotizie for any typos – my monitor is dark & your background is dark… so I can barely see what I’m writing!

  2. WestlinWind
    August 21, 2007 at 12:54 pm

    Crusie & Mayer’s _Agnes and The Hitman” came out this week.

    Take one food writer named Cranky Agnes, add a hitman named Shane, mix them together with a Southern mob wedding, a missing necklace, two annoyed flamingos, and a dog named Rhett and you’ve got a recipe for a sexy, hilarious novel about the disastrous side of true love…

  3. Wendy
    August 21, 2007 at 8:40 pm

    You said no children in peril, but I dont know if this would fall under that. I just finished reading The Stolen Child by Kevin Donohue. It is fantasy but has an everyday feel. It is about changelings and they are stuck in time at 7 years old. I didnt think it was bad with regards to the kid stuff, but I am not sure how others would feel.

    Besides that I like autobiographies like, Mafia Wife by Lynda Miltio and Reg Potterton. I am, also, fans of Stephen King (favorite Pet Semetary) and Anne Rice. I havent read it, yet, but I have heard that Feast of Saints has some great history about New Orleans in it. It is hard to find time for all the books I would love to read.

    Good Luck and enjoy your time alone.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

