Home > blogosphere, motherhood, other moms > A drum in a vacuum

A drum in a vacuum

If you’re not a sci-fi geek or physics type, you may not know that sound doesn’t carry in a vacuum, like outer space. The only noises you hear are those that you make yourself in your self-contained atmosphere. And the occasional crackly transmission over a headset or radio.

Much of my experience of motherhood has been like that. I’m out here on my own in the depths of soundless space. I’ve got The Husband and the Best Friend on radio, but it’s me who has the breasts and the no job and it’s me who is dealing with the nitty gritty of a baby from hour to hour. I read the manuals and I can consult with Houston periodically, but I’m a woman alone.

When I started this blog, I figured I’d be beating a drum, but it would be in that deep black vacuum. I was ranting and raving and getting the noises out of my head but I didn’t think they would go anywhere. You can not imagine my shock when people were actually commenting on my blog! (All thanks to Karrie’s link from her blog, I’m sure.) I was pretty sure that meant that they were reading my blog.

I wasn’t alone.

Or, if I was alone, I was alone in an outer space filled with other mothers making the same noises. We might be talking over tin cans, but we were talking. When I see everyone get excited about a blog entry like my “Doctors Bill and Ferber” one, it’s like I hit just the right note on my drum and we all felt it resonate. And it’s fantastic to know that I’m not the only one singing that song.

I will stop torturing metaphors well past the point of usefulness now and go nap. I just wanted to thank you all for letting me know I’m not alone out here.

  1. C'tina
    August 30, 2007 at 6:11 pm

    thank you for the memory…I hadn’t thought of ‘breaking the suction’ and bringing my baby up on my shoulder to nuzzle and pat his back before I laid him down. Sometimes I felt like a natural, sometimes my jaw was clenched and I had to remind myself to breathe, because I wanted this putting-himself-to-sleep-thing to work. Your outer space anology reminds me of how I felt occasionally when I was pregnant …suffocated…no way to escape…at times not much has changed, lol. I found your blog thru Wendy @ Southern Mom, her satirical humor speaks to me

  2. August 31, 2007 at 6:16 am

    surely you aren’t alone. šŸ™‚

  3. September 2, 2007 at 9:07 pm

    This is FATE. Just came across this artist on “Jack’s Big Music Show” of all places. Check out the third video, a little over half way thru….talk about resonating! http://www.cathyrichardson.com/video.html

  4. bianca bean
    September 29, 2007 at 5:18 pm

    I love this post. I can relate like crazy. Very glad to have found you.

  5. October 5, 2007 at 10:38 pm

    Yeah.
    That.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

