Home > housework, underwear > Blogging without any panties

Blogging without any panties

Note: I wrote this Monday, Columbus Day. Then hit “save” instead of “publish.” I’m a nit. So it should have gone up yesterday. I’m hoping you’ll all understand.

So I’m sitting here in a pair of jeans that have a tear in the back and a cheap patch holding them closed. I’ve got on a bra that’s a couple sizes too small and mismatched socks and one of The Husband’s t-shirts. No panties.

Cause, see, it was laundry day on Saturday. And I didn’t do laundry. Instead I went to a party with some friends and caught the “activist street band festival” HONK in the square. And yesterday, instead of doing laundry, I went apple picking and checked out the October Fest in Harvard Square.

What’s more, thanks to a variety of circumstances, I didn’t do all the laundry last laundry day.  So I’m down to the aforementioned outfit. And I have no clean knickers. That’s okay though, cause The Husband is also commando. He’s got no clean boxers.

The Child is well dressed. Okay, her jeans are a wee smidge short on her, showing ankle sock, but not tragically so.  She has a more extensive wardrobe than I or The Husband do. Isn’t that sad?

There is a pile of dishes to be loaded into the dishwasher. Toys litter the floor. The tub needs a scrub in the worst kind of way and don’t ask me about the floor in my pantry.

But you know what? I don’t care. I’ll spend all day today (Columbus Day) doing laundry and I’ll have clean panties by the end of the day. I’ll pick up and whatnot in between loads. I may have a messy house and ratty clothes on, but I have a great memory.

At least, that’s what I keep telling myself. It sounds like something embroidered on a cutesy pillow at my Aunt J’s house. Why do I feel guilty that I can’t manage to keep a neat house and have time to spend with my family? I know other people do it. At least, I think other people do it.  Why can’t I?

I hate housework. It’s tedious and frustrating and in a tiny condo with a cat, a toddler, and two adults, futile. It’s sweaty work and sometimes smelly. But it’s part of the mom thing. All the books (the ones I respect, anyway) say that a consistent routine is best for a toddler.  They say that part of teaching your child good habits — housekeeping, eating, etc. — is establishing and keeping a neat, orderly, well-run house.

And I try! I swear I do. I resolve that I’m going to make the bed, sweep all the rooms, and unload the dishwasher every morning before my shower. I will be showered and dressed by no later than  7:30, after getting the Husband out the door at 6:50. I will scrub the tub every Monday and wash the kitchen and dining room floors on Tuesday.

But it all goes to hell when The Child has had a bad night and I just need a few minutes to sip a glass of water and read a book.

So I tell myself I’ll do it during her nap. And instead I find myself putzing around on the Internet.

I want a clean house. Or I want the ability to not care that I have a messy house.

And yet, I’m stuck in the middle.

Categories: housework, underwear
  1. October 10, 2007 at 11:52 am

    No one does it all on their own.

  2. October 12, 2007 at 6:55 pm

    Once again, I can only say, Yeah, that.
    Though we’ve actually been managing to keep ourselves in clean clothes – thanks largely to the fact that Tilt works from home and can run down & shift or retrieve laundry in the basement sometimes during the day. Our neighbors who share the machines with us hate us for leaving stuff in the machines for days at a time, though. Sigh. I was just asking myself yesterday, “Why is it so damn hard to finish a load of laundry & bring it upstairs?”… another unanswerable question.

  1. October 12, 2007 at 7:16 pm

Leave a Reply

