Home > happy, motherhood > A good day

A good day

So some days all I do is kvetch. At least, that’s what I feel like. But today I’m here to tell you I had a good damned day.

It did not start out all that propitious. My Wed morning playgroup was cancelled because V was sick and I am still fighting this chest cold and didn’t want another cold on top of it.  And The Child was up at 5, which was tiring, and then the alarm clock went off at 5:30.

So I went to the playground early — I was there at 8:30. And usually, that early, I’m alone, but instead I met two cool moms. Moms I liked. That’s pretty weird, frankly, because most of my ‘chat up’ attempts are pretty miserable failures.

Then we went home early because it started raining and I’d forgotten the umbrella. But it didn’t rain until we got home, so that was good. And The Child took her nap really early! Before 11 a.m. (Usually she naps at noon or noon-thirty.)  And she slept two hours!  That was good.

Wile she slept, I got the binding on my quilt pinned. That was good. I also got to read the new Laurell K. Hamilton book and it didn’t suck! There were only two sex scenes and they weren’t too long or unnecessary. There was actually advancement in the overarching plot and a totally unexpected twist. Woo-hoo!

Then, after lunch, my glasses fell apart. Bad. My eyeglass repair case was easy to find, but had no screws. Very bad.

(I’ve been meaning to get new glasses for a month now. The Child has a habit of head butting me in my left lens and it’s begun to pop out at regular intervals. My first appointment got canceled because they don’t accept my insurance anymore. My second got canceled because The Husband had a job interview and couldn’t watch The Child. My third appointment is next week… I hope.)

So I walked down the bike path without any glasses. That’s a scary thing. I’m extraordinarily nearsighted. People more than ten feet from me were nothing but moving blobs of color.  People less than ten feet from me were merely people-shaped blobs of moving color. I arrived at the local drugstore without having killed myself. They didn’t have any eyeglass repair cases! Oh no!

But the nice lady who went looking for them came back and said, “I’ve got one behind the front desk, for employee use. You want to use that?”

Wasn’t that nice? Then, of course, I couldn’t see to fix the damned things. So, the manager came over and fixed them for me! Wow!

So then I went to Starbucks (natch) and a guy got up from the computer table, walked over, and held open the door for me, smiled when I thanked him, and then sat back down! Wasn’t that just lovely?

I got the Mom Bob yesterday and I was a little nervous about it — I look very soccer mom-esque.  But the nice people at ‘Bucks were very enthusiastic. So were two of the nannies I bumped into.

Then I went to the Farmer’s Market. And a new booth was there and they sell local, organic, pastured lamb! Okay, you may not get all excited about lamb, but it’s one of my favorite things and my usual  source hasn’t sold lamb this year, so I’ve been dying for some lamb.

Also, she sells 100% local wool quilt batting! How cool is that?  (And she takes credit cards, which is nice because I’d come out without cash!)  She was really nice and promised to bring me lamb shanks next week and sold me some lamb sausage for dinner tomorrow.

So, in all, it’s been a very good day. This is probably a bit dull, since happiness is often less interesting than tragedy, but I thought maybe other people would like to hear about other people being nice to strangers.

Categories: happy, motherhood
  1. karriew
    October 24, 2007 at 10:10 pm

    Pictures! Pictures!

    So glad you’re having a good day. 🙂

  2. bethiswfg
    October 25, 2007 at 2:04 pm

    It’s nice to hear that there are people in the world willing to do something nice for a stranger, not to mention that it’s nice to hear about another’s good day!

  3. October 25, 2007 at 5:20 pm

    Sounds like the perfect Fall Day, with lots of positive vibes and good juju. Ah! Thanks for sharing and letting us appreciate ‘the little things’ that really matter.

  4. November 4, 2007 at 1:03 am

    Hey, sometime when it looks like playground weather, let’s plan and meet up at one. I’d like to chat again!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

