Home > sleep deprivation > Sleep… please, God, just sleep!

Sleep… please, God, just sleep!

The time change came and smacked me across the face. I expected some of it, but it’s turned into a very weird day.

We went to Cider Day out in the Berkshires yesterday, thus missing the hurricane. But, contrary to expectations and all past experieince, The Child did not fall asleep in the car until we were nearly there. And she woke up the second we stopped in a parking lot, even though we kept the engine running. So she napped for all of 30 minutes, as opposed to 1.5 hours.

Okay… well, she was very well behaved, regardless of the fact that she must have been  tired and I know she doesn’t like the car. (Cider Day is an event spread over many orchards around the region, so you have to drive 10-40 minutes in between each one.) She didn’t eat a whole lot either, despite my best efforts.

We did have dinner at The People’s Pint in Greenfield. Fantastic. Really, one of the best pubs I’ve been to in the U.S. If you’re ever out that way, make time for it in your schedule. The Child ate moderately there, but  only moderately.

She stayed awake in the car for most of the drive — again, contrary to all expectation and prior experience.  Finally fell asleep about 35 minutes from home. We managed to get her into the house still asleep — despite the cold pouring rain — and put her down. She slept… okay. Woke up a few times, but The Husband managed to get her back down.

This mornign she woke up at 5 — which is about when she wakes up every day, if you adjust the time. Then we went down to the Harvard Bookstore 20 percent off everything sale. That took a little longer than I was expecting and I forgot about the time change so she was tired and crying by the time we got back (an hour after her usual nap time). So I tried to put her down for a nap.

No dice. I nursed her. No dice.

I let her run around and I fed her and then I nursed her. No dice.

I changed her (again) and fed her (again) and nursed her (again). No dice.

Finally, I gave up.

Now here it is 4:30 (or, in her mind, since she doesn’t know from time changes, 5:30) and she’s still awake, still hyper, only slightly cranky. I don’t know how she’s not falling asleep in her risotto.  (Risotto, the go-to meal for moms who forgot to go to the grocery store. All shelf-stable pantry ingredients.)

She’s way too young to give up her nap. I know that. She’s not yet two. And I’m worried that if I put her down early, combined with the time change, she’ll be up at 3 or 4 a.m. And I don’t think The Husband could deal with that. I know I couldn’t.

Categories: sleep deprivation
  1. November 5, 2007 at 10:44 am

    Heh.

    Sunday: M was up at 3am. I tried to keep him up all day yesterday, but we both collapsed on the couch sometime yesterday afternoon, and he was up at 1 am. J got up that time, and put him down again at 3. From 3-4:30, I wrote the paper due this morning that I should have written yesterday.

    Just. shoot. me

  2. Juliet Bravo
    November 5, 2007 at 12:41 pm

    Hmmm, don’t hate me, but I totally planned for this 🙂 I’ve been slowly moving the boy’s bedtime back, so he’s been waking up slightly later. This morning he woke up at 7:00 on the dot!

    However, if it makes you feel any better, he did so only after rolling over late in the evening, not really waking up, and puking all over the bed 😦 Blech.

  3. November 6, 2007 at 1:09 am

    I feel for you. Just when you think you have them all figured out, they change it up on you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

