Home > menstruation, my bod, Politics > Girl stuff

Girl stuff

So, what kind of feminine hygiene product do you use?

I’m on an environmental kick — well, a really really extended kick, anyway — and my latest thing is “how can I reduce the amount of trash we produce?”

Currently, I use tampons. But this post on Feministing which linked to this piece about washable pads in Treehugger made me think. I throw away a lot of tampons each month. Plus the box. Plus the gas and whatnot to get the tampons to the store. Plus the electricity to light and heat the extra five feet of store space needed to store them. Not to mention they are expensive. And taxed! because they are “non-essential.” That’s just so typically male.

There are also the persistent rumors that pads and tampons are bad for you. The sources and science are exceptionally fuzzy and I refuse to believe anything I get in a badly written, mass-forwarded email, so for the most part I dismiss them. But I can see how putting bleached and chemically treated anything against my mucous membranes for extended periods (ha! pardon the pun) might be harmful.

Now, I don’t use pads. Except at night. (I may try the DIY approach once I’ve got the time to, you know, make them.) I don’t like having the bulk or the faint aroma of blood at all times. But KarrieW told me that she uses a Diva cup and I’m thinking about switching. A little research also turned up a sponge on a string which is like a washable, reusable tampon.

So now I’m wondering if anyone, besides the inimitable KarrieW, uses these products and can offer me some advice?

Categories: menstruation, my bod, Politics
  1. Miriam
    November 27, 2007 at 12:54 pm

    Also based on Karrie’s recommendation, I also rock with the Diva cup. Love it! Less waste, less cost, less hassle! Totally worth the $27.

  2. November 29, 2007 at 3:56 pm

    Another Diva convert here.

  3. December 5, 2007 at 1:41 pm

    I also use the Diva cup, and love it. I use cloth panti-liners for back up and on very light days or non-menstruating days when I feel the need for a liner. Waste free periods!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

