Home > books, City mama > A morning off for ‘Manda

A morning off for ‘Manda

Tomorrow, the BFF is taking The Child.

I will go to Burdick’s in Harvard and sip a cup of perfect chocolate and read a book. (Any suggestions?)

Then I will do some small, nay trivial, amounts of Christmas shopping. I may also buy new sneakers since mine are shot.

Then I will go to Wagamama and buy a big steaming bowl of gingery soup with chicken and noodles and eat it at the bar by the window with my book and not talk to anyone but the waitress.

I’ve been having an intense craving for light, Asian soup for a week now. To me, it’s what Nigella Lawson calls “temple food” — as in, treat your body like a temple. Healthy and still filling, light and still satisfying, intensely flavorful in a way that wakes up rather than satiates the tastebuds, it’s an excellent antidote to overindulgence. The thing is, I normally get these cravings in February or March, when I’m tired of the rich braises, strudy root vegetables, and heavy soups of winter.

I’m a little worried that I’m getting this craving now, when winter has just knocked on our door.  We may have  a whole winter of Japanese noodle soups and Chinese wontons ahead of us, if this doesn’t go away.

The thing is, this will be my last time off for months, probably. The Husband goes in for surgery No. 2 in two weeks and then there’s Christmas and The Child’s birthday and his rehab. So I guess I’d better make the best of it.

Categories: books, City mama
  1. karriew
    November 30, 2007 at 8:04 pm

    The soup sounds wonderful. I ordered miso last night, but we’re all down with the crud. I think I have a ginger root someplace in the depths of my freezer.

  2. December 2, 2007 at 3:26 am

    I too crave soup for comfort, the simpler the better. Here in Seattle we have Vietnamese soups, Thai soups, Vietnamese, Chinese, all flavorful and light. Hope the surgery goes well and you enjoy your break. Every mother deserves that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

