Home > sleep deprivation > Sleep deprivation

Sleep deprivation

Sleeplessness rubs you raw. It grates down your flesh and mind and in tiny amounts tears you away until you’re bleeding and bare and screaming.

The Child, in case you didn’t get it, has not been sleeping. We get a good night — down by 7 pm, one quick and easily settled wake up at midnight, and then down again until 5:30. And then we get three or four nights of wake ups every hour and a half. The Husband and I trade off those nights, he gets the early shift (nine to 2) and I get the wee hours shift.

It’s a cumulative effect, and if you add on the stresses of the past two weeks and the upcoming month, it’s been pretty awful around here. I actually napped yesterday. I never nap — it’s just not really in my nature. I will sometimes fall asleep while holding The Child, but that’s somewhat different. Yesterday I got up, laid down on the bed, and went to sleep. Slept for nearly two hours.

But I was still logey and muzzy and fagged so when The Child woke up at 2 and The Husband lost his cool (her fifth or sixth wake up, I guess), and I took over, I did something I swore I would never ever ever do. I gave her Benadryl.

A quarter of a dose, sobbing with guilt while I did it, but I needed sleep. The Husband needed sleep. Hell, The Child needs sleep. She’s just not getting it.

And she’s just woken up from her nap ungodly early. We had a screaming fit where she declared she didn’t want to sleep anymore and I sobbed and begged her for just another twenty minutes of sleep.

She’s awake and wearing my boots and singing “Go go godzilla” right now. I’m about to bake bread and beat my head against the wall.

Categories: sleep deprivation
  1. Wendy
    December 3, 2007 at 7:18 pm

    I have a question and I don’t mean it in a judgemental mean way, just curious. If you are the point where you would give her Benedryl, why won’t you let her cry it out, so to speak? If I remember correctly she is well over a year old?

    I remember that sleepness and when my son turn 12 months old that was it. I told him it was bedtime and he could either sleep or not, it was up to him, but mommy was going to sleep. I turned off the monitor and had the best night sleep. I wouldn’t do that to him when he was an infant, but when you are falling asleep at the wheel eomething has to be done.

    Good Luck with the sleep wars.

  2. December 4, 2007 at 5:03 pm

    ohhh…benedryl has the OPPOSITE effect on my kids…my son’s ear swelled up once…some minor allergic reaction…he was so loopy and AWAKE on benedryl…you do what’s right, what’s best and/or what works. There is a continuum… I don’t know this Dr. or his theories, but this article makes sense…. I take every thoery/practice with a grain of salt http://www.drjaygordon.com/development/ap/sleep.asp

  3. December 6, 2007 at 10:44 am

    Yup, Beandryl makes Max even more…..Max.

    Hope you get some rest, and hope we can get together before I leave. Monday morning, maybe?

  1. December 4, 2007 at 6:36 pm

Leave a Reply

