Home > Christmas > Butter time

Butter time

I think of this time of year as “butter time.”

Basically, when I get up and make breakfast for the family, I pull out a half pound of butter to reach room temp on the counter during the morning. If I have enough time to sit down and think, I get back up and make a batch of… something. Cinnamon buns. Parker House rolls. Pie pastry. If all else fails, I make a batch of icebox cookies.

Many of these things, if you are just making them and freezing them instead of baking, take very little time.

I have a baking list. I always do this time of year, but it’s a little longer than usual this year because I get to have four holiday get togethers. One with friends (Dec. 22, the solstice!), one with my family (Dec. 25, natch), one with my mother-in-law and her peeps, and one with my father-in-law and his wife. (Just one other person doesn’t count as peeps.) Only two of those require real efforts, but I’ve also got the accumulated baking responsibilities of a handful of dead or dying people on both sides: my grandmother’s stollen, my aunt’s neopolitan cookies, my grandmother-in-law’s shortbread.

Already, I’ve made: 2 baches of cinnamon rolls, 3 batches of icebox cookies,  a giant batch of caramel sauce, a humongous batch of caramels. Plus, for a variety of events but already eaten, shortbread three times, gingerbread muffins, brownies, and a loaf of whole wheat bread every three or four days.

I’ve gone through 6 pounds of butter, 10 pounds of sugar, 4 pounds of brown sugar, three dozen eggs, about half of a 25-lb. bag of flour, four 3-envelope packages of yeast, and a cup of cinnamon. I like cinnamon a lot. I have a whole container of egg whites in the freezer which, at some point, I will defrost and whip with brown sugar and bake until they are crunchy-sticky-chewy and give them to M & D who are inordinately fond of my meringues.

Right this second I should be making something or working on basting the quilt or figuring out where to fit the rising batch of cinnamon rolls or wrapping presents. I guess that’s what I’ll go do.

Categories: Christmas
  1. December 18, 2007 at 12:42 am

    So are you going to share the caramel recipe or just torture us?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

