Home > books, Christmas > Post-Christmas post

Post-Christmas post

The BFF says she finds taking down holiday decorations depressing. I, on the other hand, find it liberating and satisfying.

I like Christmas but it’s become something of a forced march since I got married. Juggling the logistical insanity of five discrete family units is just one small aspect of my holiday chores. Add to it the baking (and five pounds I always gain), the shopping, cleaning, wrapping, planning, holiday and thank you cards, all of that and I head into the New Year thrilled to have Christmas behind me.

And taking down the bells and the tree and the ornaments, putting away the special linens and china, sweeping up errant needles and fallen tinsel, is all very comforting. Because now I can settle into winter: Long nights and bread baking and Sunday stews. My life can resume its routine without the constant interruption of family birthdays (they are all in the winter, damnit), special parties, etc.

Since having The Child, I’ve become even more attached to regular routines. She doesn’t sleep well normally but if her schedule is out of sorts, it’s truly awful. You can imagine what the past two months have been like.  As a result, I’ve made the somewhat radical decision to push her party back until MLK day weekend. I’d like to get some rhythm restored to our lives.

It’s still going to take weeks to settle out everything. The Child has grotesque piles of toys to be sorted and found homes. There is a metric ton of presents to return and more than $100 of Borders gift cards to spend. (Hooray!) The Husband has a much more complicated job starting Jan. 1 and I still have the binding to put onto two Christmas quilts. But the worst is behind us and I’m thrilled to consider the next three months of pleasantly dull sameness.

Remind me of that, will you, when I start bitching about boredom in February?

Categories: books, Christmas
  1. Wendy
    December 31, 2007 at 9:32 pm

    Ahh, if only we could hibernate like the bears. I totally agree with you. However, our routine will be short lived with Mardi Gras coming early this year. But I will enjoy the quietness for as long as I can get it.

  2. karriew
    January 1, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    Happy New Year, A and Co.! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

