Home > City mama, sleep deprivation > Conversation at Starbucks

Conversation at Starbucks

Me: The usual. Only make it Venti. I need the sugar. Oh, and a C-I-N-N-A-M-O-N-C-O-F-F-E-E-C-A-K-E, please.

Barista:  A what?

Me: (pointing) One of those.

Barista: You spell fast! We have to come up with some kind of an abbreviation for you. Like C-C-C.

Me: Camel on the ceiling.

Barista: What?

Me: Nothing.

Barista: I mean, we know you. It wouldn’t be like we would get you a cookie or anything.

The Child: Cookie? Cookie! I want cookie!

Barista: (wincing) Sorry.

Me: (unconvincingly) It’s okay…

The Child: Cookie! Cookie! Cookiecookiecookiecookie! Please! Please!

Barista: You look tired.

Me: I’ve been up since 2:30 a.m.

The Child: Cookie! Cookie! Cookie, mama, please? Cookie!

Barista: The cake is on the house.

The Child: CAKE! CAKE! Cakecakecakecake!

  1. Juliet Bravo
    January 24, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    Bwahahahahaha!!!

    … sorry … ^_^;;

  2. karriew
    January 24, 2008 at 7:52 pm

    Oh, lord.

    So sorry. But free cake helps a little, right?

  3. January 31, 2008 at 8:12 pm

    I love this. Hilarious. I wish I was behind you in line to witness it.

    “Big C, little c, what begins with C? Camel on the ceiling, C, C, C.” Right? 🙂

  4. jamanda
    January 31, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    Camel on the Ceiling, CCC. Exactly. What I want to know is why I can remember every word of every book that The Child reads and yet STILL can’t remember to pick up yogurt when I go to the grocery store?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

