Home > my dad, Politics > Excuse me, I need to find my ice skates

Excuse me, I need to find my ice skates

My dad and I voted the same way yesterday.

Now, my father is one of the smartest people I know, hands down the top five. And I hang out with some astoundingly brilliant people.  But we generally don’t see eye-to-eye about… um… anything political. Same-sex marriage, abortion, religion, torture, the military. Nothing. Hell, we don’t even watch the same TV shows (except House. We both love House. For totally different reasons, but we do).

However, unlike my most people, he actually listens to me, even when he disagrees. And when he talks, he makes a certain amount of sense. I may not agree, but he’s not just spouting the same unexamined crap over and over, without thinking about it.

But we’re talking about a man who usually votes Republican, except that time when he voted for Perot.  And we both pulled the lever for … Barak Obama. Seriously.

I’m almost 35 years old and my father has never stopped surprising me.  I’m a lucky woman.

Categories: my dad, Politics
  1. Wendy
    February 7, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    I have been disgusted with my Democratic votes in the past and had switched over to the Republican side, but I would consider voting for Obama, too. If we have to have a Dem in the house, please don’t let it be a Clinton.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

