Home > motherhood, Uncategorized > Hearing yourself from your daughter’s mouth

Hearing yourself from your daughter’s mouth

Today, tired, cranky, sick, dealing with my second day when she would not nap until after 3, I yelled at The Child. She was about to draw on our one really lovely piece of furniture — a leather armchair I bought for the Husband some years ago when we were flush.

“No! Please do not draw on the chair. Only on paper, please,” I said sternly but at a normal volume. When she applied the marker (top on, though I didn’t realize it at the time) and dragged it down the arm, I said in a much louder voice, racing across the room, “No! No! NO!”

I took the marker from her hand and scooped her up. She looked up at me and said, in a small, trembling voice, “Inside voice, Mommy. Inside voice, please.”

I felt like a monster.

Categories: motherhood, Uncategorized
  1. elcynae
    April 3, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    Gee, that sounds human to me. 😉 I mean, yes it’s good to avoid yelling. I try to avoid yelling too. But who wants a mom who’s never ever upset by anything, no matter what you do, who is always in perfect control… not only would the child of such a person grow up thinking that was normal, and be scared of people crazy enough to shout, but she’d also think there was something wrong with having powerful emotions.

    I speak from (a little exaggerated) experience here… it took me until a few years ago to learn to deal with people having obvious emotions. I’m still no good at it. At least now I can watch people who aren’t perfectly calm, and not assume that they’re dangerously unstable.

    What’s that quote about everything in moderation, including moderation? 😉

    (Plus, that’s an awesome response from the Child. 🙂

  2. C'tina
    April 4, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    a monster!? “Plus, that’s an awesome response from the Child.” is testament. A monster NOT. You are too hard on yourself, too judgemental.

  3. beatrizmdelgado
    April 19, 2008 at 5:29 am

    no monster, human. better they listen NO from us soon in their lives and know how to deal with it. better they know there are a lot of NOs in the real life. Versus listen NO for the first time from others and the shock of knowing the NO when maybe it’s too late.

  1. April 16, 2008 at 2:02 am

Leave a Reply

