Home > books, feminism > Peter Sagal rocks the house!

Peter Sagal rocks the house!

I just heard a story from yesterday’s “All Things Considered” about the new “Horton Hears a Who” movie. Go, listen to it. And if you don’t shout “HOO YAH!” then I don’t know what to do with you.

This is particularly funny because my daughter’s been on a Dr. Seuss kick lately and I’ve read every Seuss book we own a lot lately and I noticed that girls get the short shrift in the books. Apparently it’s much worse in the movie.

I swear to Goddess, I want to go out and buy nothing but books with female heroes. The Child deserves to see more than just boys saving the world, bonding with their dads, defeating the bad guys.

Categories: books, feminism
  1. April 5, 2008 at 1:54 am

    Cool! I’ve just tracked down a book my (very feminist) godmother gave me when I was a little girl, and that I just about loved to death. It’s a book of fairy/folktales featuring strong women, and it’s called Tatterhood – Amazon has it. I’m going to get a copy and start reading ’em to Zag – little boys need to hear about strong women, too!…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

