Home > Uncategorized > I don’t like Margret Wise Brown

I don’t like Margret Wise Brown

And if that makes me a bad parent, a bad American, a bad Gen Xer, a bad person… I don’t care. I still don’t like the woman.

Rather, I don’t like her books. I’m sure she herself was a lovely, giving, generous soul with much to recommend her. Just not an ability to write.

I know, I know, “Goodnight, Moon” is one of the great childhood classics. My mother gushes about it. I don’t like it. It almost rhymes, almost scans, almost falls into a comfortable repetition. Almost, but not quite. Same with “The Big Red Barn.”

Please please please don’t get me started on that fucking “Runaway Bunny.” Nights often find me muttering under my breath, “Go on, run away already you little hasenpfeffer.”

And tonight, for the first time, I read a book that The Child got for Easter. (Did you get Easter presents? I don’t think I did, but The Child takes home a giant haul. Anyway…) It was called “The Golden Egg Book.” It’s the single most bland, illogical, stupid, pointless, irritating piece of PAP in the western world. I dare you to find a dumber book. The stupid ass book about a bunny who loves rainbows that she got last year is better than this tripe.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. elcynae
    April 15, 2008 at 11:57 am

    Oh boy, I have a book to show you! Actually, it doesn’t compete on all those fronts, but in my opinion it is viciously stupid, which is worse then blandly stupid.

    We have a box, of books that I can’t stand reading and don’t want her hearing. I books into it as they qualify, and then I give it to charity, on the theory that some people like that stuff, and I feel better about that than throwing them away. We also have a small section of shelf where I put the ones which I think someone (the grandparents) might notice me getting rid of. She originally wasn’t able to see that bit of shelf. Now she can, but that’s not where books come from.

    Life’s too short to read stupid books that you hate to your kid. 🙂

  2. April 15, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    Personally, I want to strangle the mama bunny in “Runaway Bunny.” Her kid’s either a brat and needs to “run away” or he’s suffocating under her endless attention and needs to be left the hell alone!

  3. April 15, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    Ha! This cracks me up. Goodnight, Moon hurts my head–OUCH, I can’t even think about it now…

  4. C'tina
    April 15, 2008 at 9:45 pm

    Runawy Bunny is odd…in a disturbing way. The only thing I can remember about “Moon” is looking for the little mouse on every page.

  5. April 18, 2008 at 10:39 am

    Agreed on the Goodnight Moon. Doesn’t make any sense, “Goodnight nothing, Goodnight mush”? WTF. Sounds like the ramblings of someone on absinthe.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

