Home > family, motherhood, my mom > Beating my head against the wall

Beating my head against the wall

So I went to visit my mom for her Mother’s Day visit yesterday. We planned this weeks in advance. And she kept asking me, “So, when will you be here? Nine o’clock?”

“No,” I answered, many many times. “We’ll leave about when The Child goes down for a nap. So probably noon. So we’ll be there at two, maybe a little earlier.”

Last week, she started asking, “So when will you be here? Noon?”

I repeated the same answer.

Friday, she asked, “So when will you be here? One?”

Same answer. My dad called, asked when we’d arrive. Same answer. My brother called, asked when we’d arrive. Same damned answer.

The traffic was TERRIBLE yesterday, simply awful, and we wound up stopping three times (pee, gas, food), so when I called to tell them we were half-way there, it was actually after 1 and we were running about 20 minutes late.

“When will you be here?”

“We’re a little late so about 2:15 or 2:30.”

“Your mother said you’d be here at 1 or 1:30… there’s food on the table.”

We arrived at 2:25. My mother had gone shopping for The Child. I’d finally resigned myself to the fact that she would only buy 3T for my 28-month-old daughter, so i wasn’t surprised when all the clothes were a little big. But the shoes….

“What size is she wearing now?” Mom had asked.

“A 7.5, so buy an 8, she’ll need those by mid-summer.”

What did my mom buy? 8.5 and a 9!

That “thunk” you hear echoing across Massachusetts is my head against the wall.

Categories: family, motherhood, my mom
  1. April 28, 2008 at 2:42 am

    LOL! Sorry, I only laugh because I understand completely and feel your pain. Especially the guilt for “being late” when you were actually on time and the guilt for not feeling so blessed when your little one either isn’t that size or has a zillion of those things already from the LAST time granny went shopping!

  2. April 28, 2008 at 2:51 am

    Sorry, my last comment sounded very ungrateful and I just wanted to clarify that I AM grateful for the stuff my mother buys our son. I just wish that when I say, “He has enough sleepers and pajamas,” she’d take heed and get him something else if the compulsory need to buy for grandchild must be quenched.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

