Home > motherhood, philosophy, religion > Coming out the other side

Coming out the other side

A fascinating but unexpected aspect of parenthood has been discovering the whole spectrum of parenting styles. Myself, I’m an attachment parenting type — cosleeping, nursing for years, feeding The Child homemade food, etc. etc. We’ve made huge sacrifices so I can be a stay-at-home mom, we eschew plastic or noise-making toys, she doesn’t watch TV…. You know, all that crap.

Now, I’ve come to this place by way of my very crunchy earthy philosophy. My world view embraces gay couples, interracial parents, hybrid cars, voting for the Green Party, and every other hippy dippy whacked out liberal Cambridge-Harvard-New England cliche you can imagine. (Except Birkenstocks.) My parenting is just another aspect of my whole lifestyle.

What’s fascinating to me is that when I go online or read books or chat with other Waldorf loving, from-scratch baking, baby wearing, tv rejecting, stay-at-home moms, about half the time they got there the same way I did.

And about half the time, somewhere on their website or in their conversation, I’ll discover that they got there via old-fashioned hard-core Christianity.

Now, I’ll admit that since the topic is kids most of the time, I don’t have a really nuanced grasp of their precise theology. But some small things, little language choices, indicate that they are not the peace-love-understanding version, but rather the “anyone who doesn’t agree with us is going to Hell” version.

And I’m astounded that two such different world views can wind up in the same place. It boggles my brain.

  1. April 29, 2008 at 1:56 am

    This relates a little to what you’ve said here, but I’ve recently realized that many parents who consider themselves devout Christians also follow the Strict Father model. That just seems strange to me as that method of parenting is very unforgiving and rigid. I can see the hippy dippy methodology fitting in with Christian values. I guess it all depends on how you look at the Bible and its teachings.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

