Home > Uncategorized > The book gods smiled upon me

The book gods smiled upon me

This super cool neat thing happened to me this week and I had to tell you all.

First, a confession. I like to own books. Libraries are good, but owning books is better. I have friends who disagree, but in the end, I like being able to get up at 2 a.m. and find my favorite Tammy Pierce or Elizabeth Peters book. It makes me feel secure. What’s more, when I can get them, I like hardbacks.

Alas, when living on one salary with a toddler in 800 square feet, one make sacrifices. So I get books from the library and suck it up. Some authors still get my money but fewer and fewer are making the cut, much less the hardback cut.

The BFF introduced me to Stephanie Meyers’s Twilight last summer. It’s a teenage vampire romance that doesn’t suck. Can you conceive of such a thing? And it’s not super trashy, either. The sequels are actually better than the first book. I was in heaven. But the cash-space thing nixed the idea of me buying them.

Tuesday this week, on my way to the library, I decided, quite randomly, to walk a very different way than I usually do. (Mostly to avoid walk lights!) And there, perched on top of a very very full garbage can, open to the rain that was about to start pouring down, were pristine copies of the Meyers’s books!

SCORE! They were even sitting on top of a still-folded plastic bag, clearly straight from the box, and so hadn’t touched anything icky!

I can’t help but wonder about that near-to-overflowing garbage can and those books, however. Most of it wasn’t in a bag but loose — including a lot of papers. Was that the result of a painful breakup? HE bought these for me and I never want to see them again! Was it a mother declaring to her gothy teenager, “You won’t read any more of this morbid crap while you’re living my house! And wipe off that eyeliner young lady!” ?

Or, more cheerfully, was it someone moving to London for three years and whittling her possessions down to a pair of suitcases?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. aguane
    May 2, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    I am the same way about books and it’s saddened me that part of becoming a grad student meant living on one income with a child and no longer being able to purchase hardcovers wily nily.

    What a find! My husband always glances in the paper recycle bins as we drop stuff off hoping to find a book or two that someone has decided to recycle but a whole bag of pristine books from an author you enjoy! I am drooling with jealousy over here.

  2. May 6, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    Ooh! I forgot to put the Meyer sequels on my book list. I was shocked at how good Twilight was too. Thanks for the reminder!

  3. May 7, 2008 at 2:27 am

    I can’t believe I found someone else who reads Elizabeth Peters! Woohoo 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

