Home > Uncategorized > My name is Amanda and I’m…

My name is Amanda and I’m…

a video game addict.

In college, I once lost a whole weekend to Lemmings. Since then, I’ve been a video game teetotaler. It’s a whole slice of modern culture that I’ve opted to do without and I’m a happier person for it, I think.

I get it honestly, at least. When Asteroids first came out (remember that?), I used to wake up and hear noises from downstairs and like any self-respecting 8 year old, I’d head down to find out what it was. My mother would be up at 2 a.m. playing Asteroids. She also spent a small fortune in quarters at the local convenience/bookie/candy shop playing Pac-Man when it was only available on console.

But every once in a while, I fall off the wagon. There was the Soul Caliber incident back during my dot-com days. A brief post-partum affair with BubbleShooter. Even about three days of “Crayon Physics.” Lately, I’ve actually enjoyed a little Zuma during my evening but it wasn’t an addiction — I could stop whenever I wanted to. But now I’ve really and truly discovered how low I could go.

Insanaquarium.

This is the dumbest stupidest strangest oddest game ever. You click to feed food to fish. The fish then “drop” coins which you need to click on to catch. You can then buy higher quantities of food. You can buy carnivores that drop diamonds when they eat your fish, which gives you more money to buy laser guns to kill the aliens that try to kill your fish…. it’s actually dumber than I’ve explained it.

Which is why, of course, I’ve spent at least three or four hours this week playing this stupid ass game.

This is why there will never be any video game consoles in my house.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. May 16, 2008 at 12:53 am

    I’m a WoW widow. DH is completely addicted to World of Warcraft and plays at least 4 hours a night after our son goes to bed. So while I’m not an addict, I’ve seen one.

    Doesn’t sound like your “disease” has taken you completely yet. 🙂

  2. elcynae
    May 16, 2008 at 11:20 am

    I’ve played that game. My real problem though was Snood. Now that one was addictive. That and MUDding of course, though my husband has that bug more than I do. Which is my fault, he hadn’t played a MUD in years until I came along. No one to blame but myself…

  3. aguane
    May 16, 2008 at 4:37 pm

    From my haiku journal:

    4/18/06

    rest my burning eyes
    insaniquarium dreams
    must feed the green fish

  4. C'tina
    May 18, 2008 at 11:23 pm

    http://www.eve-online.com/ talk about ATE UP…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

