Home > television > Catastrophist

Catastrophist

I have a tendency to to imagine the worst case scenario. It’s a gift and a curse. A gift because if the bad thing ever happens, I’ll be ready. A curse because… well, I spend a lot of my time imagining the worst case scenario.

For instance, I know exactly where to go if there’s an Atlantic Tsunami, assuming a 50-foot wave (which is the highest most geologists think may happen.) You never even thought about an Atlantis Tsunami, did you? Much less checked elevation maps to determine where to go and how long it would take you to get there. (My condo, in case you’re curious, if above the high water mark. But if I am at the park I need to run like hell.)

You can imagine what I do with global warming scenarios, terrorist attack case studies, and the Peak Oil theory. My bookshelf looks like a disaster preparedness library.

What’s this got to do with anything? Well, there’s a remake of Andromeda Strain on tonight. And I really want to watch it.

But I also want to sleep some time in the next month. And plagues are the one thing that you really can’t mitigate against. Well, not without tons of money and a fortress-like retreat in the Green Mountains stocked with food, water, supplies, etc. for a year or three. Since I don’t have those things, it’s pretty much ‘put your head between your knees and kiss your ass goodbye.’

I’m different from other people.

Categories: television
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

