Home > motherhood, poop, potty training > Cautiously optomistic about poop

Cautiously optomistic about poop

Since last weekend was the last weekend we’ll be traveling this summer (if I can help it) and it’s now regularly warm enough for bare bottoms around the apartment, we’re embarking on potty training this week.

So far it’s been a moderate success. I decided to forgo any pretension at the attachment parenting type of potty training and go straight for incentives. I told The Child that she could pick out any special treat she wanted and she could have some when she peed or pooped in the potty. I offered candy, chocolate, cookies… whatever. I was willing to abandon my no-sweets rule with unseemly ease in order to get this over with quickly.

She picked Goldfish.

So far, she’s gotten them twice. A small handful for peeing in the potty yesterday. And a big bowl of them for pooping this morning. Happily, she’s a regular pooper and I know that the minute I turn on the water for the shower she’s going to go. So I just dropped her on the special seat and hadn’t even gotten my hair shampooed when she declared she was done and wanted her goldfish NOW.

So, wrapped in a towel, dripping water, shampoo sluicing into my eyes, I wiped her bottom and got her a big bowl of goldfish.

Since we’re out and about int he mornings, I figured we’d do the potty training in the afternoons for now. She’s just woken up so we’re about to begin day two. Wish me luck.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

