Home > Uncategorized > To crack or not to crack?

To crack or not to crack?

So I have a dilemma.

I want to bring The Child to the Nutcracker this year. Or rather, I’m pondering the widsom of bringing The Child to the Nutcracker this year.

The funny thing is, I don’t actually like the Nutcracker. It’s Victoriana sentimental pap. The choreographer and composer both hated it. And yet…. and yet….

Getting all dressed up in your velvet dress and shiny mary janes, going into the city in the cold, handing those tickets over, feeling very grown up, sitting down in those uncomfortable chairs, and watching with 500 other people as that spectacle unfolds across the stage — it’s incomparable. I grew up right outside of New York City and trips to see Broadway shows are among my fondest memories.

I’d love to give that to my daughter.

But I’m not sure if this is the year. She’s a very mature 2.5 year old, but that’s a long ass ballet and sitting there, watching the dancing, maybe too much for her for that long. I mean, the girl doesn’t watch TV, she’s never seen a movie. I don’t know if she has that kind of attention span. Maybe next year is soon enough.

Then again, the Boston Ballet is doing it this year for the first time in a while. (They went to the Urban Nutcracker a while ago. Never saw it.) It’s sure to be lovely.

And, of course, August is a weird time to think about this, too.

I just don’t know.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. August 8, 2008 at 2:06 am

    Have you taken her to a movie – that would be the best indicator of how well she’ll do. My kids love live theater, but they need lots of trips to be bathroom to ward off boredom.

  2. robyn
    August 8, 2008 at 11:26 am

    try what i did with my kids- take her to a student version, a local ballet school’s version. generally about an hour, much cheaper and you are supporting local kids in their ‘quest for the best’

  3. August 10, 2008 at 10:53 am

    I went once before having M, in a group including a friend’s young daughter. And M has sat through similar events. Yes, M has sat……

    You could always leave if she doesn’t enjoy it and try again another year.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

