Home > preschool > Have I been had?

Have I been had?

So the first day of preschool, last week, asI arrived to pick up The Child, and was busy checking that she still had all her fingers and toes, that she wasn’t pining for me, the lead teacher (P.) handed me a four-page, newsprint… flyer. It had books on it, and my name written on the back and … an order form? I didn’t even look at it, just shoved it in my bag, scooped up my kid, and off we went.

Earlier this week, unable to find my keys, I dumped my back out onto the table. And there was that flyer.

I took a look and something dinged a faint bell. Oh! It was like those fund-raising forms we had back when I was in school. I scanned quickly, Scholastic Book Club Something or Another.

I sighed. I’d been a preschool mom all of three hours before they were hitting me up for more cash. But such is life. I picked two of the most useful looking “packages” (instead of single titled I’d never heard of), ordered something like 7 books for $27 and folded it up with a check into an envelope. So I wouldn’t forget, I wrote “Preschool Fundraiser” on the front and shoved it in my bag again.

(Whole civilizations have been known to spring up, evolve, and die in my bag.)

Yesterday, dropping off The Child, I handed P. the envelope. She looked at the words enscribed on front, frowned for a minute, and when I said, “The books to buy?” she went, “OH!” and took the envelope.

Suddenly, I’m realizing, I don’t think it was ever said that this was actually a school fundraiser.  I mean, really, no where and no one said that. Maybe this is just some prschool teacher’s version of Am-Way or something. I may have just put some commission on $27 into P’s pocket. 

I mildly resent being asked to raise funds for a preschool I’m paying pretty big bucks for The Child to attend. I really resent not being explicitly told that this money is for the school. And if that money is for the teacher….

I may have to write a stern note.

Categories: preschool
  1. marsupial jones
    September 25, 2008 at 11:10 am

    my son has been in preschool for 1 month and we got that one and a fundraiser for some organization’s acronym i’ve never heard of. the second fundraiser was *expensive* “cute” labels for belongings. whatever happened to a sharpie?

    i totally feel you on being hit-up for more money. and do i look like a jerk or meanie or not fun if i don’t participate? not a team player?

    the convoluted issues that preschool raise are mind-boggling. all this mom stuff often feels like dating when i was 13.

  2. aguane
    September 26, 2008 at 2:58 am

    we got the scholastic book things probably 4 or 5 times a year at my son’s old preschool. I never once bought a book off of it because he has plenty of books (think in the thousands) and it never once occurred to me that it might be a fundraiser … does that make me a bad mom? I don’t know. I do know he loved to look at “his newspaper” and would frequently keep me from recycling them because he wasn’t done looking at them.

    Now that he’s in kindergarten the real fundraisers start. This one sucks it’s at least 14 dollars an item and the pressure the kids into selling at least 10 so that they can participate in the bigger fundraiser activties (for him it’s a pig race … I have no idea if it’s a real pig race or not, I sort of don’t want to know).

    In retrospect though, I feel somewhat obtuse that it never occurred to me that it could be a fundraiser.

  1. February 21, 2009 at 12:24 am

Leave a Reply

