Home > Politics > A defense of Sarah Palin (no, seriously)

A defense of Sarah Palin (no, seriously)

There are a lot of reasons to knock Gov. Palin. More than I could possible quote here, though I will say that I’m offended and horrified that she and her supporters think I’m not a “real American,” just because I disagree with them.

But the whole $150K makeover thing is just so much hooey.

Like it or not, we live in a world where image is everything. And for a woman, looking good is not just important, it’s vital. If you don’t look polished and professional, if you have re-soled shoes and a bad hair day, then the media goes to town on you about totally trivial crap. I don’t have a Lexxus-Nexxus account, but I’m willing to bet that the number of time Hilary’s looks/hair/wardrobe got mentioned is ridiculously high. If you want to keep the conversation on the issues, then you have to look good.

And looking good is frigging expensive, espeically if you’re doing it all at once, in a hurry. The savvy shopper can spend years building a good wardrobe, finding sales, discovering what works best for her figure, complexion, style. And I’ll bet that if you look at Olympia Snow’s wardobe, it’s cumulative worth is that much or more. Fuck, high-end, camera-ready make up alone can run a grand.

Throw in shoes that look good (my god, shoes are expensive!), a few formal gowns for black-tie events, a Hermes Birkin bag ($50K, ladies and gentleman, even on eBay), and I’ll tell you that despite what the nice lady at Slate says, it’s not hard to rack up $15K. Hell. I’m willing to bet I could do it without much effort. And I hate shopping.

Finally, since her family is as much a part of her campaign as her sexy legs are, she had to buy for them, too. Throw in a couple of Brooks Brothers suits, even off the rack, some nice maternity outfits for Bristol, and some high-end kids’ clothes, and suddenly, I’m thinking she was frugal as hell.

Now, please, remember. I can’t stand the woman. She stands for everything that is wrong in America. And I think it’s wrong that politicans in general and women specifically are judged on their looks. But I realize the reality of it and I’m hoping we can now turn the conversation back to the fact that she’s a bigoted, small-minded, red-neck, hate-mongering, Bible-thumping, viciously stupid nit.

Categories: Politics
  1. elcynae
    October 23, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    To some extent, I agree with you. On the other hand, I found this article much more interesting, or relevant, or something:
    http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/story/2008/10/22/ST2008102202381.html
    I know nothing about brands, but her clothing is definitely a costume, and ought to depict what she’s supposed to be.

  2. Juliet Bravo
    October 24, 2008 at 12:35 pm

    I think the problem wasn’t so much that she spent that much money on clothes (I’m sure Cindy McCain spends more) but that the money came from Republican donations at a time when the McCain campaign is strapped for cash. That said, I think there are a lot more troubling issues with Palin than her clothing….

  3. Juliet Bravo
    October 24, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    Plus, apparently according to the article I just read, Sarah Palin’s stylist makes more money than John McCain’s foreign policy advisor. I rest my case 🙂

  4. October 26, 2008 at 4:56 pm

    I agree with you wholeheartedly. So much discussion about her looks, her clothes, her beauty pageant. And if she weren’t so “pretty,” then it would be all about her looks and clothes NOT being good enough.

    This whole Sarah Palin thing is making me crazy–I am so opposed to what she stands for politically, but extremely disturbed by sexist treatment of her.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

