Home > motherhood, my bod > Feeling even older now…

Feeling even older now…

Standing at the bus stop, in full morning sun, I squinted to see if the oncoming bus was the one we wanted. The Child was too sick to make the long walk home, but not too sick to be cute at the old lady standing with us. 

“She’s cute!” says the old lady.

“Thank you,” lisps my darling little doll. 

“Good manners, sweetie,” i praise, absently. “Can you see if that’s an 88 or a 89?” (She can read numbers and her eyes are better than mine, even with the glasses. I’m bat-blind.)

“It’s an 89,” says the old lady and the darling little toddler. The old lady beams at my little one while I thank them both.

“Is she your granddaughter?” asks old lady with better eyesight than mine.

“She’s my daughter,” I say, stung, hurt, baffled, furious.

I’m 35 and I don’t think I look that much older than my age. A wrinkle is totally normal for 35, isn’t it? I was wearing my cool new Miasy Dobbs hat, which is a little old-fashioned but in a hip retro kind of way. Hell, I was hauling a bag, two grocery bags, and a 40-lb. kid! Not too many grandmas can carry that and still do the silly moose walk dance at the same time, damnit.

I don’t look like a grandma, do I?

Categories: motherhood, my bod
  1. November 21, 2008 at 4:12 am

    NO, you don’t.

    Just ’cause that old lady can read the bus numbers doesn’t mean she’s all there. Or that she doesn’t have a mean streak–maybe she was just trying to f. with you…

  2. elcynae
    November 21, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    No, you don’t look like a grandma. Neither does the grandma who brings one of the little girls to dance class. I know she’s a grandma, and I’m still surprised every time I realize it. People tend to assume that strangers they like or approve of are of a similar age or situation to themselves… feel free to take it as a compliment. 😉

  3. November 22, 2008 at 5:25 am

    you wanna know what’s worse than when a stranger asks if you’re the grandmother?
    when a stranger assumes your adolescent daughter is the mom and glares at her, the baby and you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

