Home > doll quilt swap > Doll Quilt Swap Five quilt finished and mailed! Yay!

Doll Quilt Swap Five quilt finished and mailed! Yay!

Something’s wacky with my camera and I can’t seem to find the pics of the finished quilt or the little snowflake fairy I sent along. Boo!

I had a lot of fun making the quilt — it was a simple double nine patch and the actual quilting bit of it went all wonky, but it was still fun. Creative. Something tangible and pretty and real and done for a lovely women I’ve never met. That added a nice fillip of philanthropy to the making. 

Since my swapee is a much better quilter than I am, I decided to add a little something nice and made her a snowflake fairy, complete with feathered hair, silvery leaf wings, and teeny tiny silver embroidered snowflakes. I’m kicking myself for the lack of photos. I hope she’ll post something. Hell, I hope that it makes it through the mail unscathed. I hope she likes it and that it makes up for the wildly imperfect quilting. (My piecework was actually pretty good … for me. I was so inspired by the apparent improvement in my skills that I tried a much more dense quilting pattern than usual. And it went all wonky. Well, I guess I have to learn somehow.)

I mailed it and the nice man at the post office assured me it will arrive on Wednesday — a nice pre-holiday surprise. 

Now I’m eagerly awaiting mine in the mail.

Categories: doll quilt swap
  1. Char
    November 29, 2008 at 1:37 am

    Well, I guess you didn’t send the doll quilt to me as I didn’t get it Wed..lol Mine went to Australia and she has received..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

