Home > Uncategorized > In the teeth of a snowstorm

In the teeth of a snowstorm

I find the very primal aspects of humanity funny as hell sometimes.

There’s a snowstorm bearing down on Boston right now. It’s supposed to snow like a sunofabitch for 12 hours, then stop about midnight. The city is prepared, snow plows are covering the city like rats, and the roads will be clear before dawn tomorrow.

And yet, when I went to the grocery store today, it was like that last plane out of Saigon. Wall to wall people, grocery carts crashing together, everyone tense and grabby. It’s not like we’re all going to starve, even if there’s no food at all in your house for the night. 12 hours won’t kill anyone. And most people have SOME food in the house.

But the primal urge to stock up, to have food, is irresistable. Hell, even as I mocked the hoards, I was planning a big pot of chili for the night. Mostly I was shopping for the party I am having on Sunday (lots of cooking tonight and tomorrow), but I grabbed some stuff for the soup pot, too.

You’d think we all lived on the prairie 100 years ago.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. elcynae
    December 20, 2008 at 1:44 am

    I’d never have left the house today, even though we kind of need milk and eggs… except my last farm share pickup was today. They were getting there at 3pm, after the roads had become dangerous. The things I go through for fresh veggies. 😉 That’ll teach me to move 30 minutes away from my CSA pickup.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

