Home > Uncategorized > Everything you wanted but didn’t get for Christmas….

Everything you wanted but didn’t get for Christmas….

…. is on sale now at Sears.

I’ve had that jingle caught in my head for a week or so now. The family invasion is finally at an end and, for the first time in ten days, I’m sitting down with nothing in my hands. No sewing, no lists, no baking, no cooking. It’s joyous.

I had a nice holiday — a little busier than usual, but nice. My latent organization genes only kick in about once a year — at Christmas. I’m usually the one you hate,with shopping and cards and wrapping all done before Pearl Harbor Day. But this year I totally slacked and Christmas appeared on my calendar with little warning and less prep. I was frantic for the last three weeks. (I host four different holiday parties of various sizes.)

When I was a kid, I would spend the week between Christmas and New Year contemplating all the things I wanted that I didn’t get. (Hence the song.) Later in life, I justified it to myself by saying I was going to buy things in the post-Christmas sales, but really it was just that childish gift mongering again. It’s a habit that’s silly and shallow and a little hard to break, so I wasn’t surprised to find myself compiling a list again this year. What I was surprised at was how very modest the list was:

 
I’m not sure what that list says about me. The most expensive thing on there is the underwear. (It’s also the hardest to find. Why can’t I find any plus-sized wool long johns? Don’t other fat chicks get cold?) I like to think it indicates that I’ve evolved … I’ve moved away from basic crass materialism. It probably means something altogether different, but I can’t think what.

I’m not saying that I’d turn down a pair of cool clog boots or a 7 quart Le Creuset dutch oven. But even those things on my “I want but don’t think they are worth the money” list are still pretty modest.

That said, what did you want and didn’t get?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. C'tina
    December 30, 2008 at 12:38 am
  2. elcynae
    December 30, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    I don’t know what sizes they have, but http://www.campmor.com has a pretty wide selection of types of long underwear… and all sort of other cool things. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

