Home > books, feminism, motherhood > Running the numbers, the feminist edition

Running the numbers, the feminist edition

I’ve talked about the Scholastic Book program before. For those that don’t know, the preschool sends home a newsprint catalog of books from Scholastic that you can buy at discount prices! Apparently, if you sell enough books you get points to spend towards something for the classroom. I’ve bought some stuff, but the titles don’t really interest me, so I really haven’t bought a lot.

But The Child likes to look at the catalog. Tonight, while we were flipping through the catalog, I started noticing something. Male lead character. Male lead character. Male, male, oh, a girl but she’s Strawberry Shortcake. I grabbed a scrap of paper and a pen and here, ladies and gentlemen, are the numbers.

  • Books with obviously male lead characters: 57
  • Books with neutral lead characters/no lead character/two lead characters, one boy/one girl: 52
  • Books with female lead characters: 22
  • Of the books with female lead characters, those that I would call “pink” (i.e. excessively and obnoxiously girly, Strawberry Shortcake, My Little Pony, etc.): 12

Most of those neutral books, btw, were I Spy books, or non-fiction (The Lifecycle of Sunflowers, or Amazing Weather!). I’d say about 30 of them, though I didn’t keep accurate count.

I want to rant, but I’ve got bronchitis.

Categories: books, feminism, motherhood
  1. February 25, 2009 at 11:02 pm

    i stopped buying from scholastic years ago. not enough girls, too many toyes, and sets that always include books we already have. i’d rather go to books a million or B&N or buy books from my friends at the FWA (florida writers association) and just doante books to my kids school.

  2. C'tina
    March 1, 2009 at 12:29 am
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

