Home > family, friends, happy > There but for the grace…

There but for the grace…

It’s been one of those weeks where all you can think about is how grateful you are. At least that’s all I can think of.

The bad news has been coming in from every quarter. Not the usual crap on the radio (and TV, I suppose, though my only TV news is John Stewart). Not that the crap on the radio isn’t bad — but this is much more personal. And only about half of it is due to the economy.

I’ve got a friend who had to leave her house with her toddler due to a violent husband, another in foreclosure, another who spent three days in the hospital, another who has no idea where her troubled nephew is. My family has similarly dire stories. Parents’ and grandparents’ health failing, fights with senior living centers, jobs in peril.

None of it touches me directly. Well, I had to leave The Child with my folks to run a barfing friend to the ER, and that paycheck bounced. But that’s it. I feel enormously grateful for the luck that’s gilded us through these difficult times.

And I feel awful because there’s not much that I can do to help! I can lend supportive ears and send casseroles, but that doesn’t feel like enough. It’s neither wise nor moral to take a baseball bat to my friend’s asshole husband. We’re doing OK financially, but not great. Certainly not well enough to stop foreclosure proceedings on anyone. We can offer advice and research about elder care law, but we’re not the primary care person in any of those cases.

I’m trying to focus on the happiness in our lives and not on the helplessness. I’m on my fourth (fifth?) cold of the year and simply exhausted, otherwise I think I could do more. I’m hoping that the warmer weather brings health so that I can chip in. In the meantime, I’m stuck with making casseroles.

Categories: family, friends, happy
  1. March 19, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    I understand what you are saying completely. Sometimes it all seems overwhelming.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

