Home > Uncategorized > Trying to kill my father-in-law with ginger beer…. oops

Trying to kill my father-in-law with ginger beer…. oops

I decided to make some ginger beer to bring my FIL, my favorite parent-in-law, for Easter. I got the recipe from Alton Brown and followed it very carefully… without having read ahead. Turns out it needs to ferment for 48 hours, not 12, like I originally thought.

I shrugged, figured FIL would understand, and, looking at the directions again, decreased the yeast to a tiny pinch instead of a 1/8 t., because the directions clearly state “leave it to ferment without moving it.” Since I was going to have this in the backseat of a moving car, I didn’t want an explosion.

I’ll also admit that I used my cider fermenting bottles instead of the 2 liter plastic soda bottle that the recipe called for. I don’t drink soda, and I hate plastic, so that was a no brainer. (Meaning, I have no brain, as it turns out.)

I left the bottle with clear instructions. Wait 24 more hours, pop it open, sample, and then if it’s carbonated enough, keep it in the fridge and release the carbonation ever 24 hours. The cold will slow the yeast, so the carbonation won’t increase too much.

By the time we got home, I had an email from my FIL thanking me for the beer but saying he’d never gotten to have any. The bottle had exploded, sending glass fragments all over the pear cloufuti.

Still not sure if it was the transport of the shape of the bottle. (Bottle shapes matter — that deep dome in the bottom of a champagne bottle isn’t there just for show… it’s to keep the fizzy from turning the bottle into a shrapnel grenade.) I THINK it was the indented-bottom bottle I gave him. I’ve had fizzy cider in those bottles lots of times without any explosions….

I immediately popped the top on our bottle and got a huge fountain of gingery syrupy mess. Maybe my yeast just has more kick than Alton Brown’s?

Going to have a glass with dinner tonight.. assuming ti doesn’t plaster the inside of my fridge with glass and ginger.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. April 14, 2009 at 4:07 am

    me: i don’t get it wendy. my apple cake tastes totally different from yours.
    wnedy: well, what do you put in yours? do you use 2 sticks of unsalted butter, 2/3 C of chopped walnuts, 1C brown sugar and 1C white and do you use cortland apples?
    me: ummm… the rescipe i have uses canola oil, crushed pecans, all brown sugar and granny smith apples.
    wendy: and you’re wondering WHY it’s different??????

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

