Home > Uncategorized > Can I ask you a personal question?

Can I ask you a personal question?

How often do you shampoo?

The no-shampoo movement has been getting a lot of press lately — at least, I’ve been seeing a lot of it, and I keep feeling like I should embrace it and the attendant codicils. Shampoo once a week or once a month or something like that. Shower less often. It’s better for your skin, your hair, your planet, your heating bill, your water bill, etc.

But…

But!

I love my showers. Seriously. If I had to give up showers of chocolate, I’d say good bye to chocolate without hesitating. I shower when I’m tired, sick, grumpy, cranky, happy, sexy, worried…. My family’s favorite saying is: “Go take a hot shower.”

And I wash my hair every day. I just don’t feel clean unless I wash my hair. It’s longish right now — soon to be chopped for the spring — and fine. I’ve got a lot of it, though I abuse the hell out of it and it’s raggedy and thin at the ends. If I don’t shampoo, it’s flat and greasy. If I don’t condition, it’s static-y and fly-away dry.

My hair is pretty much virgin, otherwise. I don’t mousse, gel, spray, perm, color, highlight, lowlight, or even blow dry all that often.

I know that it takes a couple of weeks for hair to adjust to the no-shampoo (or shampoo-less-often) routine. But what do you do during those three weeks when your hair is limp and flat and looks like you’ve been swimming in mayonnaise? Just wear a hat?

And then there are the details — do you abjure shampoo and just condition? Do you condition with vinegar? (And how would that work?) Do you skip all hair products all together? If I skip conditioner, how the hell am I supposed to get the knots out of my hair?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Juliet Bravo
    April 22, 2009 at 4:30 pm

    I shampoo once (maybe twice) a week. When I shampoo, I usually condition, but every month or so, I’ll skip the conditioner. Part of it is that I (as you know) have like a metric ton of hair. If I shampooed and conditioned every day, I’d spend a arm and a leg on product. But it really is better for my hair. I keep my hair braided most of the time, so it keeps the natural oils in my hair, but my hair doesn’t feel greasy at all. I’ve been doing it so long, I don’t remember whether there was an adjustment period, but there probably was. The only reason I absolutely have to wash my hair, is if I’m around a smoker, the smell sticks in my hair and drives me crazy!

  2. elcynae
    April 22, 2009 at 7:48 pm

    I usually shampoo once a week, but with a new baby I often go longer. I absolutely always must use conditioner when I shampoo. once in while I use the conditioner and don’t bother with the shampoo. The shampoo isn’t for my hair at all, it’s for my head… I’ve never seen the comb that could make it through enough of my hair to clean my head, but shampoo + fingernails do ok. Sometime I’d be interested in experimenting with other substances instead of conditioner, but I definitely need _something_.

    That said, everyone’s hair is different… I never did wash my hair every day, so I don’t know about the adjustment, but I do know that my hair just deals better with having oil in it than some, possibly because there’s so much, possibly because it’s coarser, who knows. But really the only way to find out what’ll work is to try.

    Find a hat you like, wear bandanas (quilting fabric!), try it while it’s long enough to keep it up under the hat… or just do it sometime when you aren’t going to be leaving the house much. πŸ˜‰

    As for showers, I don’t get them as much as I want, but I do love them. I don’t think the water’s bad for your skin… though in the dry months I do need lotion sometimes afterwards. But then, I’m odd in that respect too, I mostly just wash with water. I use soap in a few key spots, because I do want to keep functioning in this culture where people aren’t supposed to smell like people. But mostly I put my hair up and just revel in the hot water.

    After we go camping I wash every bit of me with soap/shampoo/whatever every day for weeks before I get the woodsmoke out. πŸ˜‰

  3. April 23, 2009 at 6:49 am

    i shower at least once a day, ususally 2-3 times, but then i ride 20-30 miles a day when i’m training and 40 miles on the weekend [i do charity rides, MS150, you can check my blog] and i live in florida.
    i use shampoo almost every day, rinse, massage scalp every time i’m in the shower, condition once a week.
    i dye my hair every 6-8 weeks, NEVER use a blow dryer, finger comb or soft brush it. my hair is below my shoulders and wavy.
    the only time i’ve skipped a shower was because of medical orders [pre or post surgery or testing. i took showers within 2 hours of each of my kids being born, three 100% unmedicated vaginal deliveries. what’s an epidural?]

  4. May 1, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    If I don’t shower, shampoo, and condition every day, I’m extremely grumpy. That said, I often do have to skip purely for child-caring reasons, and it makes me feel really miserable.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

