Home > Uncategorized > The catastrophist worries

The catastrophist worries

I’m a planner. I find it comforting to think of the worst possible case scenario and then make a plan to deal with it. Some people think that’s weird, but hey, I think that religion is weird, so it’s all equal.

I have a literal written plan for most probable and improbable disasters: terrorist attack, city-wide fire, hurricane, blizzard, flood. I know which building are tall enough not get overwashed if an Atlantic Tsunami hits the East Coast. I know four different routes out of the city in case of containment breech at the local nuclear power plant. Heat wave without electricity? Cold snap without heat? I got a plan for that. Sudden inexplicable food shortage? I have a plan for that.

If The Husband and I get separated, we have meeting points in the area, in the state, in the region, in the country, on the continent, and off the continent. We have two bug-out bags under our bed and The Husband carries a flashlight, dust mask, and 50 feet of rope, in case of a fire in the subway during his commute.

And with news of Swine Flu popping up across the country, my mind goes to the page in our contingency manual titled: Pandemic.

Our contingency plan is as thus: “Put your head between your knees and kiss your ass good-bye.” (We’ve also got the usual precautions: wash your hands often, stay healthy, keep sick people at home. But those are pretty standard behavior anyway.)

Now, I’m not really worried. They have a lock down on this early and my amateur epidemiologist take on the issue is that it’s fatal when it’s transmitted from swine-to-human, but it seems a lot less powerful when transmitted human-to-human.

But I look at The Child, who touches everything and goes to school with other children who touch everything. I look at her school, where they hang out with pigs regularly. (Though I’m assuming the pigs are going into quarantine.) And though I assure myself that I’m not too worried, I still turn up the radio when the reports of the latest fatalities come on.

And some small part of me thinks: Oh, come on! Couldn’t it have been the Atlantic Tsunami?!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. mamaberg
    April 28, 2009 at 4:13 am

    Great post! Definitely worrisome, or are we all just getting sucked into a media frenzy? Should we really thinkg about going and hiding in the woods somewhere? My thoughts are not unlike yours: http://mamaberg.wordpress.com/

  2. May 1, 2009 at 7:24 pm

    I totally hear you on this (and on the religion-is-weird thing, too). (Have you seen Religulous, by the way?) I think I seem pretty laid-back on the surface, but I’m pretty much sure that horrific things are going to happen at any minute and I’m oddly prepared. NOT as prepared as you, though, and I certainly have a lot to learn from your very complete disaster-preparedness manual. Definitely send me a copy. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

