Home > Uncategorized > Causality of mom melt downs

Causality of mom melt downs

Why does The Child choose not to nap only on those days when I really really need her to nap? Is my desperation for a few hours where no one needs to talk to me or touch me so naked that it keeps her awake?

Or is it that I really really need her to nap because of the struggle to get her to nap? No… I don’t think that’s it. Because I needed her to nap before we even started the process today. I skipped lunch for a variety of reasons and just needed to have her sleep so I could have half an hour to eat an omelette and salad and stare out the window.

I like to think of myself as a good mom. But on no-nap days, I’m not. I’m teeth-gritting, snappy, short, and have no time for the stuff she loves, like having me walk her through a new skill.

And I know they all say that “quiet time” is a good substitute. It’s not. It’s really not. It’s good enough that I don’t lose my shit all together, but it’s not the hour or so of solitude that I really need.

I hate no nap days.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. May 8, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    I’m right there with you on all of this.

    (And I personally believe the whole quiet-time-in-place-of-nap to be the biggest fraud ever to be perpetrated on mothers desperate for naptime. When I tried it, it was more effort and frustration than just giving up on the nap altogether.)

  2. elcynae
    May 8, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    I’ve gotten mine to nap twice in the past week. The first time, I spent 2.5 hours alternately lying down with her to remind her not to shout, wave her legs around, get up, etc. and getting up to put the baby back to sleep (by which time I’d get back and she’d have her feet up on the wall and be shouting about Amelia Bedelia). The second time I didn’t want her to nap, I wanted to get her to bed early instead, but she fell asleep in the car. I’ve about given up altogether.

    Fortunately, quiet time does work for me. Not as well as a nap, not every time… but more than half the time, she’s willing to disappear into her room for enough time that I recharge a little. Not that it’s quiet. I probably shouldn’t call it quiet time. But it’s quiet down here where I am, and that’s enough for me. Calling it ‘just leave me alone for a while time’ would probably set a bad precedent though.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

