Home > Uncategorized > I’m an idiot

I’m an idiot

Once every three months, the fire alarm folks need to come by and check things out. Since I’m the at-home type around here, I let them in.

But I forget.

I never forget meetings or appointments or things like that, but for some frigging reason, I always forget these people. I’ve stood them up at least four times now in just over two years. I swear to god, I don’t know why I can’t remember this. I write it down on my calendars, I make mental notes, and yet…

So this time I was smart! I scheduled the meeting for a Wed. morning, so that I would be here regardless of whether or not I remembered.

Nope. The playgroup got canceled and I left about five minutes before they were due to arrive.

I probably shouldn’t admit this, but I’ve made up an entertaining story about “Emma and Conner and Max,” alleged members of the playgroup, and a whole complex backstory about the moms and a trip to the hospital and how Emma pushed Conner and Connor was fine but Emma’s mom’s a nutjob so we all had to go to the hospital to make sure that Connor didn’t need stitches…. And the thing is, I’ll remember all of the details of this fib but there’s a good chance I’ll forget the next fucking time these alarm people are supposed to come!

I don’t know why I can’t remember these people!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. May 19, 2009 at 2:34 am

    because you don’t want to. why should it be your job? you get paid to do this? you get thanked, a plate of cookies, a favor in kind? no, i didn’t think so. since it’s not fair that everyone else dumps it on you, instead of you just saying out loud ‘no, i can’t’ or ‘no i’m busy’ or EVEN ‘no i don’t want to’ you passive-aggressive say ‘no i can’t’ and voila! you forget your way out of it.

    nothing wrong with that to my way of thinking. i hated it when my ‘friends’ imposed because i was a stay-at-home mom. like i didn’t have a life or responsibilities? only i learned to say ‘no’ never an explanation. just ‘no’ very empowering.

  1. June 2, 2009 at 4:05 pm

Leave a Reply

