Home > Uncategorized > How quickly we forget

How quickly we forget

I’ve had my current car for four years this month. It’s a nice car, the first one new I’ve ever owned, and it came with a key fob for locking and unlocking the doors. I remember thinking, the first time I used it, how silly it was that you used a remote control fob instead of a key. How hard was it to put a key in a lock?

(I say that but at least twice in my teenaged years, I had to have someone come get me because I broke the key off in my car door lock.)

The other day, I got out of the car and hit “lock” and it didn’t work. I fiddled and faddled and did all those things you do and it still wouldn’t work. So I went and got The Husband and said, “You’ve got to go lock the car. My remote won’t work.”

He looked at me weird but walked over to the parking lot and beeped the door locked. When he came back, he looked at the fob and pushed the buttons and yes, it seemed dead.

But he flipped the key out and again, looked at me weirdly. “I guess you’ll just have to do it the old-fashioned way.”

“I tried!” i protested. “You can’t hit the lock door on the inside of the car … it jsut won’t lock with the door open.”

He gave me that weird look again and then said, “I meant with the key!”

I looked down at the (entirely functional) key in my hand and just blinked.

I am a nit.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. August 11, 2009 at 8:41 pm

    Haha, I only laugh because I have never had a car with a clicker until we be came a one car family.

  2. robyn
    August 12, 2009 at 5:23 am

    you’re not a ninny. the fob has multiple functions, locking the car being only one. battery is probably dead. and while you CAN lock the car with the key, you CAN’T activate the alarm or use the panic function. relevant? maybe only to those of us who have ‘big city’ in our veins no matter where we currently live.

  3. August 17, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    I miss when cars used to just have a key. My wife and I both had Fords and I had it so that the same key fit in both cars … now we have these big bulky keys that are specific to a given car 😦

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

