Home > health, motherhood, philosophy, preschool, Uncategorized > Holding onto sanity with both hands, hard

Holding onto sanity with both hands, hard

So I just listened to a story on NPR that I knew I shouldn’t listen to. A young girl’s fight with the Swine Flu. It’s awful, don’t listen to it. It’s important, you should listen to it.

Every once in a while I hear stories like this and I get a glimpse into what life must have been like 100 years ago, when a virus or plague could sweep through a town in days and kill wantonly. The idea that my daughter — my healthy, sturdy, big, strong daughter — might die because of the flu…. it’s terrifying. I can’t imagine living with it all the time, every time someone sneezes, every time someone coughs.

I’m pro vaccine and going to get the Swine Flu shot as soon as I can, going to have my daughter get it. (I’d like my husband to get it, but we’ll have to see when shots become available for people without any risk factors. I’ve got asthma, so I’m in the earlier bunch.)

I know, objectively, that the swine flu is pretty mild in most cases. I know that she’s strong and healthy. But I also know that 60 kids have died and while more than half of them have had underlying causes, about a third were perfectly healthy. (If I start thinking about herd immunity, I get all kindsa pissed off, so I won’t even start.)

Anyway, I’m just trying to stay calm and remember that the odds are in my favor. And using lots of Purell.

  1. October 5, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    Take a breath get the shot and purrell everything. Also glad to see someone else is pro vaccine.

  2. October 14, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    People did used to have it rough. I can’t imagine having to live with that type of fear constantly hanging over my family. I remember ding my family tree a while back, and the number of early deaths as little as 60 years ago is staggering.

    I too am pro-vaccine, but have yet to have it made available to me. Here in the UK the flu vaccine seems to have not even been mentioned when people talk of swine flu.

    So there is pretty much no chance of herd immunity here any time soon! 😦

  3. C'tina
    October 17, 2009 at 7:06 pm

    warm heat humidifier for a cough. none of this pc cool air junk. stay hydrated.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

